We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silky O'sullivan's

Silky O'sullivan's
183 Beale St, Memphis, TN 38103-3713 (Downtown)
901-522-9596
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 1,270 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Service is good once you call a server. Take note they don't serve, if you just sit down. Music was really good, good atmosphere, good choice of beers. Definitely worth a stop in while on Beale street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    143
    65
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Met one of the workers as we walked down Brake Street. He said that this restaurant was the best. We took him up on it. We sat at the bar and had the best server you could ask for. She had "Southern Hospitality" like no other. We ordered the dry rub ribs, oysters, gumbo and beer. Everything was wonderful! The ribs were to die for as the meat fell of the bone. The gumbo was not super spicey for those who like that. We ended up having 4 orders of oysters that's how fresh they were! I must stop if you are in Memphis.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graysville
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lucky Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While in Memphis, we decided to walk down the World Famous Beale Street to see what all the fuss was about. We read menus all up and down the street, and by the "Luck of the Irish", we chose Silky O'Sullivan's. It seem to have it all and we wanted to experience the food of Memphis. Our waitress, Gray (yes, that's her name), brought us our menus and beverages. We had already decided on "The Big Silk Feast for Two" and a feast it was. It was a huge platter with at least 8 large cheddar cheese sticks, dill pickle spears, peppers, 3 types of sliced and fried sausages, crackers, rolls, 1/2 rack of Memphis dry rub ribs, a choice of tamales or oysters (we chose the 3 large, deep fried tamales), baked beans, cole slaw and a cup of chili. Gray kept our glasses full, a good thing since the food was spicy and she took the time to answer a couple of questions that we had about the area. Both the service and the meal were great. The platter was heaping and generous and we enjoyed every bite. We left feeling we had experienced true Memphis cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“the Pub covers half of Beale Street!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A huge pub on the corner of Beale with live entertainment. Inside and outdoor seating. Which offers you a choice to run away from the live music if you will. Food made to order. Reasonable prices for Beale Street! Don’t forget to check out the goats which live on the premises!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buck Lake, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DIVER DRINK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

a gallon of liquid libations guaranteed to make you go down. (so they claimed...) not MY honey...but it sure did a number on his kidneys! it has rum...but not sure what else....it's REALLY good though! it's a great place! outdoor music and good appy's. you can't lose!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silky O'sullivan's also viewed

 

Been to Silky O'sullivan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silky O'sullivan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.