We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, but don't carry out if you like bread” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie Cafe
4699 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38117-4401
(901) 683-7555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 1,199 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American, Californian
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty, but don't carry out if you like bread”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stopped in to pick up lunch and opted for the turkey and dressing, plus mashed potatoes, cabbage and baked squash. Good as usual, but I was disappointed to find only one roll and one piece of cornbread - and only one small butter for the both... Not sure why the portions have shrunk so -- definitely eat in if you like the rolls and cornbread as you can eat as many as you like.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Bluff MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasted like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pulled in here on a Friday night. Sweet tea was great! I had the potatoes & gravy, mac n cheese, corn and a side salad. Excellent! Nice ambience also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy veggies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The vegetables are as good as always, but the catfish fillets and pork chops seems to be getting smaller. I'll definitely be back, but probably getting a vegetable plate. :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Catfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ordered the Catfish Feast and it IS! I ended up taking home 2 of the 3 catfish after filling up on the fresh rolls and cornbread and the fried corn on the cob!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to pick up dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I often stop at Dixie Café to pick up dinner. Shaun is great! Always friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and efficient with her service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dixie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.