We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast...can't believe I never came here before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brother Juniper's College Inn

Brother Juniper's College Inn
3519 Walker Ave, Memphis, TN 38111-5917 (University Area Neighborhood Association)
901-324-0144
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,292 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: University Area Neighborhood Association
West Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast...can't believe I never came here before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I went to Memphis State University back in the 80s and I'm so sad I never knew this place was right next door to the Tiger Bookstore. What a great, small, "hole in the wall" place with some of the best staff and EXCELLENT food!

We had the Denver omelet, cheesy grits, and my wife had the special #2 (eggs, bacon, biscuit). The preserves for your bread were great. The coffee was fantastic...they even have a coffee bar while you wait (and you will wait as this is no longer a secret place).

I have so many other things I want to try next time...can't wait for my return to Brother Junipers!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    69
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Truly the best breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wow! Worth the wait for sure! Went on a Sunday morning and had to wait 45 minutes. Enjoyed the coffee bar. I had the veggie omelet and hash browns. My husband had the hungry tiger. We ordered the "special pancake" which was to die for. It was a cinnamon roll pancake which had probably 2000 calories, but worth every bite!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Big portions good service good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we ate there for breakfast and the place was packed. The claim is the best breakfast in Memphis. I had the chorizo burrito and the chorizo was not spicy. It was bland and the salsa was ok. The grits are watery and average. However the bread and jam are absolutely delicious. The coffee is strong and hot. I would not wait 30- 40 minutes again to have breakfast again. The service is very good and pleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Reason to Wait a For Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Let me begin by saying that I am not that much of a breakfast person. I eat it because we are supposed to, it is the most important meal of the day, blah, blah, blah. I also want to say that I consider myself a foodie. I enjoy all types of food and have eaten in restaurants all over the world. I read the reviews about this place, drove 1 hour from Mississippi to give it a shot, waited in line for 1 hour and have never been more pleased with breakfast. The food at Brother Juniper's is what breakfast is supposed to be. I had the San Deigan, Rachel Ray's favorite( open face omelette with portabello mushrooms, home fries, bacon, tomatoes. Feta, and Cheddar cheese). OMG!!!! Husband had blueberry pancakes and enjoyed them. The place is relatively small, not much ambiance, the service is adequate. This place is all about the food. The portions were good. Some may think it is pricey for breakfast ($73.00 including tip party of 5) but it was well worth it. You cannot go to Memphis and not eat at this place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargersville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Tried them all but this is the best breakfast in Memphis. Omelet and cheese grits are fresh and hot. Service is great. Coffee bar is available while you wait.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Juniper's College Inn also viewed

 

Been to Brother Juniper's College Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brother Juniper's College Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.