We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger Great Joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill

Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill
84 E Ge Patterson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-4410 (Downtown)
901-523-9754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Burger Great Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Earnestine & Hazel's was a great experince. It was a really good afternoon. Had the soul
burger (wonderful and lived up to the hype), played the juke box (stocked great old soul and rock), played some pool and toured the upstairs ( a former brothel). I'll be going back soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dive in for a Dive Bar Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Behold, the grand daddy dive bar to end all dive bars!

In my research for good Memphis bars, I was thrilled that not only does E&H boast a terrific burger, but was also featured in films, including the Sean Penn gem "21 Grams", so I had to check this one out. Former brothel and hangout for guys like Ray Charles, supposedly haunted, great burgers...yeah, there was no stopping me.

This plays breathes history. It looks like it got shut down ages ago, and just got re-opened in its original state. It's very shady looking, with torn up walls, a lone juke box by the window, a long bar and grill, and at the time, a few smoking guests to just add a little extra to the atmosphere.

My girl ordered a salad, and I ordered the infamous "Soul Burger". Absolutely delicious! The portion was a little small, but what a tasty burger.

We left soon after we arrived (busy schedule), but we were saddened to learn that there was an upstairs area that we could have checked out. Oh well, next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What took me so long?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'm a 39 year old Memphis native and for lunch last week was the first time that I step foot into E&H. There are a couple of things you MUST do when visiting E&H. #1 order the soul burger (it's good, a tradition and you wouldn't want anyone to ask you did you get one and you hadn't). #2 play some soul music on the jukebox (they have a great collection). #3 Chat it up with the bartender/soul burger chef. #4 take a tour of the upstairs area and the adjoining restaurant 5 spot (they are very cool spaces).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Hamburger Très bien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The best hamburger you will ever eat! The place is in a historic building which was bordello or house of ill repute years back. It is now a popular night spot. But the burger, called a "soul burger" is what it is about.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

When in Memphis, one must go to Earnestine and Hazel's for late night. It's a combination great dive bar with slightly creepy reminiscence of the building's former life as a brothel. Nothing cures what ails you like a "Soul burger."

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill also viewed

 

Been to Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnestine & Hazel's Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.