We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 1912

Cafe 1912
243 S Cooper St, Memphis, TN 38104-4222 (Midtown)
901-722-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 1,292 Restaurants in Memphis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is a hidden gem! I love the burgers, they are to die for! They also have a very cool and unique menu. I have never been disappointed. The drinks are also very well made, the bartender really knows what he is doing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This restaurant is one of my wife and I's favorites. It is basically our "go to" unless we have something new we want to try. Never had a bad meal and the specials always add something fresh and new to the menu. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Reservation on 4/21/12 and we were promptly seated. Noise level was a little more thn ai like but it improved dramatically as the night passed. Everything that we ordered was outstanding....salad with fried oysters, mussels, cheese plate, grouper entree, and especially the desserts...lemon pie, cheesecake and bread pudding. Highly recommend for a great meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quaint mid town eatery with varied menu and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My first time to this Restaraunt that my son found as he was house hunting in the cooper young area. I had the veal picatta and my wife had the grouper. Bread pudding for dessert--Delicious. No problem accommodating GF dining. We will be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not what is used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place has gotten increasingly noisy and the quality of the food and service have deteriorated. The tables a packed too closely together to have a conversation without having to talk over the table next to you. The server pitched the specialty as "seasoned rubbed leg of lamb", but failed to tell us this meant hot, spicy seasoning. Additionally, it was very dry and looked like patties, not the leg. My wife got the chicken pasta and the chicken tasted like rubber, though the pasta cream sauce was tasty. Not worth the time or money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1912 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 1912? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 1912, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.