We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sea bass” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami

Tsunami
928 S Cooper St, Memphis, TN 38104-5605 (Cooper Young Community Association)
901-274-2556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 1,270 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best sea bass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I really enjoyed the set up low lighting dinner place. It is a great place to get good fish. I had the sea bass over black rice.
Very upscale restaurant in Cooper Young area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Midtown Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love eating at Tsunami. Ben Smith always prepares perfectly cooked and interesting dishes. The sea bass is off the scale.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good fish, good atmosphere, not enough flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

been here several times before, first time in 5 years or so that i have stopped by passing through town. was not as impressed as i had been in previous visits. the thai sake mussels are still the best thing on the menu and the small plates are the way to go so that you can get a few apps. just not enough flavor to many of the fish dishes...while you can certainly taste the fish you just hope for more with some of the combinations. the wine list is great for pairing and its a good place for a small group of friends or family to go any night of the week. just wish they would get more creative with flavor sometimes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best patio dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Made reservations. We got sat on the patio which was really nice. Had some wine. We started with soup black bean soup& avacodo chilled soup. Yum!
Seabass served over black rice is by far my favorite.
If you can sit in the patio I would recommend it! Very upscale! What a great date night!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

super creative food, excellent service - bit noisy - so be prepared. food was exceptional and the wine list was decent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami also viewed

 

Been to Tsunami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsunami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.