We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the desserts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
2828 Wolfcreek Pkwy, Memphis, TN 38133-8152 (Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD)
901-380-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD
Cross street: Stage Road and Germantown Parkway
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go for the desserts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A fun evening with friends, but the best was by far the desserts. The chicken, fish, beef - all relatively bland and I wasn't keen on waiting for it to cook. However, the desserts were wonderful - and varied. Next time I'll go for dessert only.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but way overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've been to Melting Pots though the years. I think this is the 3rd time I've been to the one in Cordova (Memphis). I used a Groupon which made the meal reasonably priced. Without it, it would be way too high. The restaurant is very dimmly lit. If you are over 40 like I am, be sure and bring your reading glasses or you won't be able to see the menu.

My party of 2 both chose the 4-course option which includes a salad, cheese fondue, meat fondue and chocolate fondue. The price is $31-$50 per person (plus tax/tip) depending on the meats selected.

We started with the swiss cheese fondue which has always been one of my favorites. It is rather strong in flavor, so don't choose it if you want mild flavor. It was served with bread, apples and veggies for dipping. Very good.

I chose the California salad with walnuts which was incredible. My friend chose the house salad which he described as OK.

For the entree we chose the chicken/shrimp/beef plate and another plate which was identical except it was coated in Cajun spices. We both agreed that the cajun plate was better and the filet was better than the chicken and shrimp.

For the finale, we chose the turtle chocolate (Milk chocolate, carmel with candied pecans). It was served with an abundance of meats for dipping. We were rather stuffed with the whole meal, contrary to what other have been saying.

On the negative side - about an hour before we arrived at the restaurant i received a voice mail message saying that the restaurant was closed due to a plumbing issue. I didn't get the message until I arrived at the restaurant and I was surprised that they were open. Not sure what happened, but also surprised they didn't call us back to tell us they were now open.

While the quality of the food was really good, I was describe the service as just OK. The host had the temp of the oil too low for a long time and the food wouldn't cook. He had to be reminded that the oil fondue was served with tempura batter. The chocolate arrived while we still had the hot oil pot on the table. The bill was incorrect the first time, but was then corrected.

Overall - a good night with great food. The service, which should be incredible for this price, was just OK.

p.s. Groupon and other sites offer half price coupons often - be sure and have one before you go! Also - reservations are a must, and you must book days ahead of time for the weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited here recently on a Groupon deal. The setting is nice. The concept of the restaurant is what I enjoyed mostly....cooking your food at the table. I had the four course meal and everything was good. Don't come and expect to leave stuffed because you won't be. For me, it was enough food but my guy wanted more to eat. I'm not sure that I would want to visit again and spend $100+ but it's worth it for celebrations, romantic nights, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Terrible experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a party of 4 and ordered 4 course meal each. We were given fondue for 2 for each course. Finally by the dessert, we asked for more because there was barely enough for 2 people. Our waiter was all over the place. We talked to 2 different managers. It took an hour to get our dessert order and another 30 minutes to get coffee. To top it off, our check was wrong! And what did we get for a horrible experience? A free jar of garlic wine seasoning. Yes, we spent over $200 and had a horrible experience but left with garlic wine seasoning. Lucky us. Please don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience; NOT to be missed !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This may be the most unique, and possibly best meal, of your life. I have three pieces of advice:
1) Make a reservation (as tables do not turn over quickly)
2) Throw away your watch. This is a 3 to 4 hour commitment.
3) Bring extra $$ because you WILL want to tip well, and it WILL be worth it.

The lighting is low, the setting romantic (almost Zen, and I would not recommend it for young families), and in the middle of your table is a HOT griddle...be careful !!...upon which your wait person will build your opening fondue, a lovely cheese/wine mix that will have you thinking there's no need for a meal ! But the meal continues. The next course is your salad...house recipes that are not to be found elsewhere. After that is a potpourri of meats and vegetables that YOU will cook at table in a house-made broth, ensuring that all your veggies are steamed fresh. Then the piece de la resistance...the chocolate fondues served with various cakes, brownies, and cheesecakes. It will take about 3 and a half to four hours to sensually savor the entire four course meal. Couples can expect to spend about $60-75 without alcohol. Hubby and I DEFINITELY plan to go again and again !! Service is awesome as well !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.