We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Hawaiian Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houston's

Houston's
5000 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38117
(901) 683-0915
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love the Hawaiian Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great Hawaiian steak... Love the cheese bread that goes with the salad. The honey mustard hot bacon salad dressing is to die for. Big crowds on weekends.... Make reservations..... Drinks are great as well.....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    33
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just don't order the steak!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The visit started great with great staff and seating. Our salmon appetizer was really delicious. My entree of tuna was good. However, my husband's steak was awful. He ordered it medium rare and it came to us medium, which we could have tolerated. The bad part was the outside was burnt to a hard crispy crust as one would expect from a Waffle House. My husband said he would choke it down. He attempted it but couldn't do it. I have him part of my entree. We showed the waitress and she simply said "sorry". Just a disappointing experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Tried Houston's on a recommendation, and the fact it was close to our hotel. It was so good we went back our last night in town. The wait staff (save one) were very attentive. The atmosphere was was great. The ribs were tender, with just the right amount of sauce. The pork chop was wood fired and huge. I would go again when back in town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“I LOVE Houstons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We used to have a Houston's in Nashville, so when I'm in Memphis I make sure to dine here. They take reservations, so it's helpful to make one. They were on a 30 minute wait for Saturday lunch. I was glad a booked ahead. I love the spinach dip and veggie burger. The service was also great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“consistent quality - consistent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great service, among the best in town - they must really work their folks as they are super attentive, focused on the details and on being sure you have a great experience. Other than the wait on busy nights (up to an hour, but you can sit or eat at the bar....), they strive to be HAPPY every time they interact with you....
The food is also consistent, fresh, well prepared and seasoned, and top quality. The filet, veggies and especially the desserts and brownie and ice cream should have a halo. Fresh fishes, good wine selection The Caesar salad (and others) could use less dressing, however. Just ask for it on the side.
You can't go wrong, if you are willing to wait and relax for a spot here
little pricey...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.