We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
147 Butler Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
(901) 672-7760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Ordered the pork rack for 2. Fall off the bone, juicy and tasty. The side dishes are a bit small. Place gets busy but well worth the wait for the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlinville, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our tour guide at Sun Studio recommended this place as the best Memphis BBQ. She was not kidding! We did have to wait a little bit in line, but good music is piped outside to make your time pass quickly. The sandwich/plate of barbecue is huge with southern cold slaw piled on top. My husband and I enjoyed sides of barbecue beans, mac and cheese, fries and onion rings. This lunch was sooooo filling we didn't eat supper. It was all delicious! We went to the location on Central Ave. and it had indoor and outdoor seating choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“OH HELL YEAH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

No, even though the side dishes are quite fine, this is not the place for vegans.

But if BBQ served up unpretentious but an absolute culinary cut above the average joint sounds good---and you ARE in Memphis----I can unreservedly recommend this fine local eatery.

Portions are generous, and having been more often disappointed by commercial BBQ places than I wish to remember, Central BBQ (I visited their location on the city's South Side, on Butler Avenue) gets my thumbs up. The owner buys the best available pork locally, and the price is nice. Again----a cut above the average offerings of BBQ, by owners who clearly have a visiion and take pride in what they do---GLORY!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely phenomenal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

With a group of friends I celebrated my birthday last week at Central BBQ and it was AWESOME!!!! Ate there the next night and on the third day, stopped in to pick up some ribs to go to take back home with me! When you open the front door the amazing aroma of the best BBQ and ribs you'll put in your mouth, wafts gently around you until you're caught up in the essence of what is the best tasting food, most relaxed and enjoyable (though definitely not fancy) atmosphere and the friendliest staff you'll find on EITHER side of the Mississippi River!!!! Located directly across the street from the Lorraine Motel (National Civili Rights Museum), a trip to Central BBQ on Butler just CANNOT be beat. For almost a week, friends and I ate at every BBQ/Ribs place we could…of all those…Central won hands down!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Poor quality bBq”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were soooo disappointed in this bbq place after all the good reviews. We tried the pulled pork, ribs, brisket and sausage. Nothing tasted smoked and all was bland. The best thing was the sausage. The pulled pork was dry and tasteless. The mac & cheese was mush and the beans were over cooked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.