We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best BBQ in Memphis !!this is where the locals eat !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
147 Butler Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
(901) 672-7760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best BBQ in Memphis !!this is where the locals eat !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

First everyone was amazing!! Super nice, helpful, funny just such a great atmosphere! We got at least one if everything because my husband is a BBQ aficionado! And we were told by every local to go here for the best!! And they were right!! The dry rub ribs and the pulled pork sandwich was my favorite, and the chicken, but really you can't go wrong!! If you don't know what dry ribs are you can get them dry then put sauce on them if you want, but dry rub is different!!!! And I think that people get confused if you don't know, which I read some if the other reviews and I'm sure that's what they got!! They are not McRibs!!!
When you look around in here people look like they have won a prize when they get their food!! That's what you want to see in a BBQ joint!!! Oh, get the banana pudding and a bag pork rines on the way out:) thanks central BBQ we love you!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved this place - the BBQ is outstanding and the waitstaff is friendly and helpful. One caution - the sauces are HOT! Watch out for the mustard sauce in particular - it's runnier than you would expect and will gush out at you if you press the plunger too hard. I got a little bit of a burn on my hand for being too aggressive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing BBQ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ribs were not good. They were burnt and hard on the end. They were not meaty and did not fall off the bone. Beans tasted like they were out of a can like Campbells, fries were cold and mushy, and cole slaw was terrible. Big disappointment. Best ribs are at Park Avenue Barbeque in Florida.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's Okay, But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped overnight in Memphis for so authentic Memphis BBQ, so we went to Central BBQ and I told them that I wanted some damn good Memphis BBQ. The guy told me I was at the right place. Central BBQ is one of the top rated BBQs in Memphis according to sources I found on the Internet. I got the combination place which has ribs, pulled pork, and brisket with two sides (baked beans & coleslaw). The food was good, but I would not qualify it as damn good BBQ. The price was $23.50 which to my thinking is a little high for what you get. The next time I go to Memphis and want some Memphis BBQ, I will not go the Central BBQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny/nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ribs and family joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a local treat. It is across from the historic Lorraine motel where Dr. King was assassinated and which has been preserved and built into a civil rights museum. (We did not see the museum--it is under renovation, but it is definitely worth crossing the street before dark to see this incredibly moving landmark.)

The restaurant has the best ribs in town and we were taken there by our family who live in Memphis. It was not touristy, not expensive, not fancy, (you order and pay first and get your own condiments), but definitely the best meal we've had in Memphis.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.