We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chiwawa

Chiwawa
2059 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Byhalia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The tacos are all sold in singles so it gets pretty $$ considering they are 3 to 5 $ a piece. And they aren't anything grand just very average

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really Wanted to Like It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I've been to Chiwawa several times and was initially excited about a place get good tacos in midtown. Unfortunately, the food and service are inconsistent and the main dining room unpleasantly loud when it's crowded. We drive out to Hickory Hill for tacos at El Mercadito instead.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Look / Lackluster Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were really excited to try this restaurant for the second time and yet again our service was okay, but the food choices were limited and lacked little culinary flare. If you are going to specialize I would hope that you would be able to make the limited items you have really shine. May be a great bar, but I would not recommend the food. I would be willing to try the location again in the future if the menu changes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fun Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my first time having brunch at Chiwawa, and it was great! I don't think many people realize that they even serve brunch. Service was great, and I had MORE than enough food on my plate. (If you order one of the egg scramble dishes, it's enough food for two people.) This is a great place to meet up with friends, family, or co-workers.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friends dont let friends eat at Chiwawa”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The worst restaurant meal I have had since the last time I ate at The Arcade. How do you make a bland dish using chorizo? It had absolutely no taste. I had it removed from the table and the check. My wife and I will not be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiwawa also viewed

 

Been to Chiwawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiwawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.