We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now you get yourself here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Bar-B-Cue

Central Bar-B-Cue
Summer Ave., Memphis, TN
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Roseville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Now you get yourself here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Now you get yourself here.We ate at the shop on Butler.One of the manager/cooks gave us lowdown on how they smoke their pork.Being from Minnesota that's important.there ribs and pulled pork were hot,moist,and there sauce wasn't to spicy.Generous portions.Busy but they keep a good flow.Very pleasent servers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On a recommendation from the guy at Gibson Donuts I went to Central, and it was delicious. FYI... after you order you are given a number and the people at the shop will call the number and walk inside and outside looking for you, so please be aware.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lot of food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Good barbecue. Great banana pudding.A lot to choose if you don't eat pork.Right across street from hotel Lorraine and king museum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

THis is the place the locals like. Ribs are fantastic. The fries might be the best I have ever eaten. Family friendly, relaxed atmosphere. You order at the counter, you get your own drinks, and the food comes fast and is delicious

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“I Expected More!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

When your in Memphis the one thing I expect is great Ribs. I went to Central because more than one local gave rave reviews. The cashier was very helpful in my ordering process. I liked the decor very early BBQ. I ordered a half slab and potato salad and baked beans. The potato salad was great tasted just like Granny's. The baked beans had a little kick just the way I like them. I now come to why I only came 3 stars the ribs looked like they were left for days on the grill. They were charred to Meteorite consistency! I'm the type of person when I spend my money I shouldn't waste food so I took a bite. This is a great example of if it looks like a duck it is a duck. It was horrible I'm gonna go somewhere else I must find a good rib place before I leave.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Bar-B-Cue also viewed

 

Been to Central Bar-B-Cue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Bar-B-Cue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.