We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frida's Restaurante Mexicana

Frida's Restaurante Mexicana
1718 Madison Ave., Memphis, TN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #355 of 1,199 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife is not really a fan of Mexican food, but to please me we gave it a shot and we both were pleasantly surprised. My wife had a chicken salad and I had beef fajitas. Both were very good and tasty. Service was excellent - we were very well taken care of and a lot of fun out on the patio. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Used To Be Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited Sunday, Sept. 8 and sat on the patio. Service was ok but quality of food was much better when they first opened. Fajita's were burned. (Both meat and peppers and onions). Taco salad with ground beef was bland. Need a new chef!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice location but average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food is what you would find in an average Mexican restaurant. The location is nice, with furniture that reminds me of Latin American "summer" houses. In general, it is a nice place for small groups of friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Friendly and plentiful fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very enjoyable meal. Loud, very loud, but since everyone was having a good time, it's hard to complain. Good service, better margaritas and exceptional pork w/ green sauce is what makes life fun. Would happily for there again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went late on a Friday night. The place was packed but we were seated quickly. Waiters were on top of it, great service and the drinks were excellent. Highly recommend the Shane King Burrito, muah!!! Prices were very reasonable. Did I mention the service and food were excellent....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida's Restaurante Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Frida's Restaurante Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frida's Restaurante Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.