We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it again, Home run again !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McEwen's On Monroe

McEwen's On Monroe
120 Monroe, Memphis, TN 38103
901-527-7085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McEwen's On Monroe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,270 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2ND & MONROE
Transit: Main Street Trolley stop is less than half block from restaurant entrance. Trolley stop located at Monroe and Mid America Mall.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tried it again, Home run again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wrote about it in 2012 and tried it again in 2014. Said Hi! to a wonderful lady that I had the pleasure of being served by the last time, ate some simply great food, and stuffed my face with the UNBELEAVABLE Boston Cream Pie.
McEwen's on Monroe is a MUST in Memphis

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    84
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I got into Memphis airport late on a Friday, we just went downtown to grab some dinner. McEwen's was new to both my fiancee and I. It wasn't crowded as it was close to 10 pm, but there were a bunch of tables in there. We sat in the bar area at a high top, the service was fast, efficient, and friendly, and everything we ate was amazing! We shared the southwest spring rolls, very good, I had a caesar salad and the lobster risotto, which was amazing! Jon had a steak which was very big and very well done. they had local art on the walls for sale, which I always love when places do that too. All in all a great experience, I'd definitely go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Souper Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not to diminish the rest of the items on the menu, but on a cold day, it's hard to beat the soup at McEwen's. There's a different soup each day, but it's always outstanding. I recommend that you get a cup, while you wait for you meal. Which, by the way, is always fast, fresh, and tasty. If you sit at a high top by the bar, you are guaranteed to get great service. However, if you would like to relax by the fire, the dining room is also a good choice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Downtown's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been eating here for years and still love it. The food is interesting and deliciouos. Ths atmosphere captures old downtown Memphis.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“like being in san francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

someone we met recommended this place to us and we loved it! it was crowded, festive and cozy and the food was really delicious. get the warm mushroom salad - to die for!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McEwen's On Monroe also viewed

 

Been to McEwen's On Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McEwen's On Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.