We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Potato Pancakes - Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcade Restaurant

Arcade Restaurant
540 S Main St, Memphis, TN 38103-4810 (Downtown)
901-526-5757
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Arcade Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Port Perry, On
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sweet Potato Pancakes - Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We loved the old decor and worn tables. It was obvious that the locals love it too. We went for breakfast on a recommendation to try the potato pancakes and they were great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    104
    45
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One fine breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

While there was a long line for a table, we were able to grab a spot at the counter rather quickly. Breakfast was fat, awesome and reasonably priced. Service is outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool looking place. Horrible food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for breakfast. He is from Memphis and I went to school here and we have strong ties here and much memphis pride. We both were so disappointed The biscuits were terrible; the pancakes were dry, Luke warm and uncooked; the country ham was not good; the hash browns were so burned u had to cut with a knife; and the eggs were okay. The gravy was packaged gravy but was the best part of the meal. When i asked for grits instead of hashbrowns the waitess brought them but never addressed how awful the food looked which was the most disappointing at all. The cook, the waitress, and a food runner all looked at our plates and could have cared less. No quality control at all. I have never weitten a bad review but between the horrible service, bad food, and $27.00 tab, I had to. Dennys downtown is much much better. Go here for coffee and experience but eat somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Turn back time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Arcade restaurant, the oldest in Memphis started in 1919, but it is stuck in the remodel they did in the 50's; and thank you very much for that. we are talking diner style, with booths and tables offering classics such as burgers, and liver and onions but also featuring more modern treats. I had an artichoke, goat cheese, sun dried tomato and pepper sandwich. Hubby had the liver and onions which were 2 huge pieces of liver, smothered in onions and gravy, 2 sides and a small bread pudding. The staff are super friendly and really enjoy their job. Fun spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“This is old Memphis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

No trip to Memphis would be complete without a meal at the Arcade Restaurant. This is a historic old diner that's been here forever. The food is basically good. This is not a 5 star restaurant, but it deserves 5 stars because of it's history, it's an Elvis old hangout, it's in decent shape, and the food is good. If you can't appreciate landmark locations, don't come here and then knock it down on tripadvisor. I came here on my first trip to Memphis 5 years ago and enjoyed sitting in the Elvis booth, located near the back exit which Elvis would use and then run out the back door when fans got crazy. On my recent trip, I visited twice. The sweet potato pancakes are great-wish I could get these back home. Another meal was a vegetarian vegetable plate which I enjoyed. Good coffee, good service, good prices. Several movies have been shot here. Every time I went there was no wait, so I guess it all depends on timing of when you arrive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcade Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arcade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcade Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.