We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Memphis Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Manchestter, Englaned
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but if we every went back to Memphis this would be the place we would stay. Very friendly staff, incredibly helpful. Breakfast is good - although not a lot of space to sit down and have it. Room a bit dated but large.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We apprecaite you taking the time the review your stay on our TripAdvisor Site. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. We are doing a full renovation that will increase seating in our Hearth Room Area to accommodate more guests.

I look forward to having you stay again soon

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    144
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
111
188
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Residence Inn at the beginning of a 2-week driving trip. The location was perfect and the rooms were large, more than ample for a family of five. The 2-bedroom suite with kitchen was ideal for the group. The decor was a bit grungy and dated, but they were in the process of updating the decor, and hadn't gotten to our floor yet. The staff were super-friendly and helpful and the breakfast was simple, but adequate. The central location was an ideal kick-off spot for walking the city (or taking the trolley). We would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I hope you had a wonderful 2 week vacation! Thank You for including the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown as part of yoru vacation. Happy you had a chance to expereince the trolley and the fun restaurants and attractions just steps away!

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was located in a perfect location to downtown Memphis where we could walk to all the restaurants, bars and music halls. It is located in a historic Memphis building which is an extra perk. Makes you feel almost like you arent in a hotel but staying in a historic bed and breakfast. The hotel manager is very very helpful. He helped us locate some great local tourist spots and find discounts. The suites were perfect for our stay and since I am a Platinum member was upgraded apropriately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
First of all-Thank You for your loyally to Marriott and for being a Marriott Rewards Member! We appreciate you!

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our downtown in the heart of downtown memphis!

I hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
Tracey Hennigner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Overall we thought the hotel was great - very friendly staff, great location, nice renovations. The only 2 things that were important to us which prevented a 5 star rating were 1) The wifi was spotty - depending on where in the room you were it would connect or not. A party of 4 with multiple devices requiring wifi this became a big issue. 2) The "queen" size beds as defined by Marriott management (according to operations manager) are really full size beds. 2 adults in these beds is quite tight and not very comfortable.

Other than that we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: If wifi is important get a room closer to the elevators since it appeared the signal was stronger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank You for your review. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

We try hard to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay and want to come to back again so I apologize about the WIFI Connectivity and hope that did not stop you from getting your work done on time.

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

You will see lots of people stating that this hotel has a fantastic location situated within walking distance of the downtown area. This is absolutely true. In fact, as far as location goes, this hotel takes the cake. The hotel's historic past also adds to the charm of this location. The breakfast was well presented and the food was hot and tasty. The front desk staff were helpful and professional. The valet does get backed up from time to time but they were hustling to make sure that guests were receiving their cars in a timely fashion. The room we had was huge and architecturally interesting. We had a sweeping view of the river. The only complaint was that the room was constantly damp. I also suspect that there was mold because my allergies were going off like crazy. Overall, this hotel was a solid choice. The location and overall condition of the hotel were great, but the room could have used a little work.

Room Tip: Call the valet AT LEAST 15 minutes before you want to leave in order to ensure that your car is wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank You for your feedback. We are in the middle of a full hotel renovation we hope you will come back and stay in one our new guest suites very soon.

If we can help you with any upcoming reservations

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our fourth stay at The Residence--a chain hotel with a boutique feel. It is definitely time for a remodel, but they are currently in the process of doing so (and the design photos show that it will be just as tasteful and in keeping with the historic building as the current design). As well, the need for a remodel, brought the cost of our room down to a very reasonable $150. Main Street continues to develop and this really is a nice area for your Memphis stay...right on Main Street and the trolley route. It is within short walking distance of Beale, Mud Island, and many wonderful restaurants. It can be rocking loud on Beale or at the nearby Stadium, but it is always quiet in the hotel--perfect. The complimentary breakfast continues to be a nice inclusion in the cost--hot and cold selections--to be eaten in their commons area or taken to your room. The studio room is a great compromise--the queen size bed is tucked into an upper level loft with the bathroom, while the living, dining and kitchenette are at a slightly lower level. The sofa is a sleeper, which can come in handy if you have children or a visitor. The view from the roof top is nice--it does not have the restaurant or bar features that some of the surrounding hotels have (the Madison, the Peabody), but if you wanted that, you would have paid $200 more and stayed at one of those hotels. If you want something a little more quiet, you can enjoy your glass of wine here, watch the sunset over the Mississippi, listen to the music from the other places (but still be able to have a conversation)--you can always visit the Madison and have a drink on their roof and get the best sunset view, if you prefer. The staff at the Residence are very friendly. I love it here. We have been several times and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
WOW What a fabulous review of your stay at the Residence Inn. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful views of the Mississippi River from our rooftop. Nice place to unwind. Our Staff strives to provide outstanding guest service!

We welcome you back again for your 5th stay soon!

Have a wonderful Summer
Thank You
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a decent choice for those wanting to explore downtown Memphis. Guests can easily walk to Beale Street, the Civil Rights Museum, or the riverfront. Those not wanting to walk have easy access to the trolley.

Staff members at the hotel were cheerful and helpful. Our only complaint would be a problem with the air conditioning in the room. First of all, it was very loud, somewhat disturbing our sleep. Second of all, the carpet was slightly damp near the bedroom closet; from the stain on the ceiling we deduced that the unit above us had been leaking. This could explain the slightly musty smell.

Again, the location and staff were great. The room was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
i am sorry your stay was not upt to our standard and are we do hope you come back and give us another try as soon as our renovation is complete . All our suites are being remodled and updated and we will have brand new HVAC units.

Please contact me directly at 901-578-3700 when you plan on returning.

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#23 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.