We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Full Gospel Tabernacle

Full Gospel Tabernacle
787 Hale Rd, Memphis, TN (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)
901-396 9192
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Attraction details
nb canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Spent over 2.5 hours in a very welcoming service on New Years Day. The service was cut short because of no choir that day and a busy day before, but it was still over 2.5 hours. You will leave here feeling "Loved" and tapping your feet. We would definitely return if we were in the area

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If the Rev. Al is there ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

you will be in for an experience you will never forget. I've been here a few times. Every time I've been lucky that he's shown up. You never know, but I will say that sitting in the congregation right after 9/11 with Al Green singing "God Bless America" a cappella three feet from where I was sitting ..... words can't convey. There wasn't a dry eye in the house. Pure magic!!!!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reverend Green was glad to see us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just like the Marc Cohen song, Reverend Al Green welcomed us to his church. Sunday service was the major highlight of our recent trip to Memphis. AMAZING! Not easy to get to but well worth the cab ride. We aren’t religious but this place was very uplifting and so fun. We even got to shake Al’s hand. That man has an incredible voice! There is no way to predict if Al will be there for service but we did check his tour schedule and there were no dates scheduled. We knew there was a good chance he would be there and we lucked out, although I must say it would have been a great experience even if he hadn’t been there. The deacons and visiting preachers were all good and the choir was, too!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you are in Memphis on a Sunday, then don't hesitate! Al Green is a great speaker and the mood is perfect! The band plays well and the choir is just as mad as you might expected. It's great that this is not a well known "attraction", and this is the gospel on its best. Be aware - two and a half hours of good old American gospel!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't miss Rev. AL Green if you come to Memphis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

R & B singer Al Green shares his passion for God at the Full Gospel Tabernacle Church in Whitehaven, just south of downtown Memphis, Tennessee not too far from Graceland. There is no way to know if Rev. Al Green will be at the church services, but he is there most Sundays when he is not touring. Put this on you "Memphis Essentials" list when you visit this great city. Cross your fingers and hope you are lucky enough to see this man transported by the spirit as he sings and preaches to his congregation.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full Gospel Tabernacle also viewed

 

Been to Full Gospel Tabernacle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full Gospel Tabernacle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.