We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, it was not that great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mezcal

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Mezcal
402 Perkins Rd., Memphis, TN
(901) 761-7710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #634 of 1,271 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eh, it was not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived as soon as they opened and got a very sweet server. The cheese dip was yummy but a basic enchilada and taco were very bland. It was as if the meat had zero seasoning at all. I had been here once before and it was really good. Maybe I just caught them at an off time?? However, I can name a few more Mexican restaurants in Memphis that never disappoint and unfortunately this is not one of them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Food here is consistently good. They have a typical menu and service is always friendly. To be honest I think the downtown location has more flavor, but if you're in the area and craving Mexican, this is a good place to stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Ms
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We take the grandchildren here because it's family friendly and we all like the food. The service is good and there is something for us all to enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My sister and I decide we wanted Mexican. So decided to go here. The food was ok just ok I have had better! When we got there they seemed nice but once we sat down... so much different my sister said no ice in her water and guess what she had ice I said so salt around my drink it had salt. Then I guess it was getting close to closing time. They start cleaning up spraying the tables down it was so strong! Then they had on different clothes so I didn't know who worked there and who did. I WILL NOT BE GOING BACK EVER!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This place has the best Mexican food and their service is always great!! It's good from the begining with salsa and chips down to the end with the main entree!! Must eat here it's so good! I love this place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mezcal also viewed

 

Been to El Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mezcal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.