We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4068 Stansell Court, Memphis, TN 38125   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
La Vergne, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

this was my first stay at the HI express Memphis Southwind and it was great! The front desk staff was accommodating and friendly to me even thought he had just gotten fussed at by the previous guest checking in. The room was spacious (I got upgraded to a suite) and had the A/C running when I arrived :-). There is nothing worse than waiting for your room to cool down from not having the A/C on for days. The staff at breakfast was great and the food was very good (must try the cinnamon rolls). Check out was easy and again the staff was great. Next time I stay in Memphis, I'm staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It was nice having you as our guest, we Thank You for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.

We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.

We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
12
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I ended up staying two nights instead of 1 because I enjoyed my stay so much. The room was hospital clean, large and complete with fridge and microwave. The outdoor pool was also very clean and refreshing. As I had booked through Hotwire I didn't know exactly what I was getting but thankfully you can add to your stay, which I did!

Room Tip: Short drive to best hot wings in Memphis I never used room service (not sure if they have it?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, we Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.
We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.
We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.
Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have stayed here twice for about 20 nights in the last month. So I have seen the good and the bad.

The hotel is right beside the highway so you need to get a room on the backside of the hotel with an even number if you want a quiet room.

Now I knew this and each time in the request section on the Holiday Inn website requested a room on the top floor and with an even room number so I could be on the back side of the hotel.

Both times I had to end up with a back and forth with the clerk at check in to get the room I wanted and had asked for when I reserved the room.

When you are staying in a hotel for over 2 weeks you would think they would actually look at the requests especially since I am a platinum member with over 80,000 points and over 70 stays this year with the Holiday Inn chain.

Next the hotel especially on the 3rd floor is musty smelling and hot enough to make you sweat.

The carpeting in the hallway on the 3rd floor is older and worn and threadbare in several spots.

The breakfast in the morning most days is the standard Holiday Inn fare.

But more than half the days they did not have fresh fruit, low fat yogurt or boiled eggs. I’m on a diet and by not having these items the essentially had me buying my own food to eat since I could not count on them having the foods on the breakfast menu they were supposed to have.

Now that was the bad.

The good.

Every staff member I spoke to (after the initial issues checking in) was polite and extremely nice.

However that is not good enough to make up for the problems.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room it is quieter. Good luck getteing them to do it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to make us aware of your experience while you were a guest at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Southwind.
On behalf of myself and staff, I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations.
It is our goal to ensure that all our guest request are met concerning room type and location, however due to high occupancy we were unable to meet your needs and for this we apologize.
I appreciate your comments concerning, our hotel. We are in the process of updating our common area and making improvement. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you if you’re ever in the Memphis area.
Again I personally thank you or bringing this to our attention. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Southwind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Once again a wonderful three day stay at a Holiday Inn Express. They do use a curves shower curtain for a rectangle shower/tub so the floor gets very wet and uses a lot of towels. They hotel does only have one elevator but on the good side it is not near a lot of rooms to make noise in the night. This Memphis hotel gets A LOT of business so book/plan early. During our stay we also noticed a few quests from the Hotel next door using our pool. There was enough room for all of the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, we Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.
We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.
You mentioned that you had an issue with you shower curtain, we appreciate you sharing this with us, it allows us the opportunity to make the needed adjustments and repair before the next guest.
We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

While the room was clean & the staff very friendly, our tub didn't drain properly. We did appreciate the free breakfast every morning! The pool area was very clean, actually the whole hotel was very clean. Our biggest problem was the hotel only has one elevator & it's right by the front doors. So if your at the other end of hotel (we were) it's easier if you use the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.
We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.
You mentioned that you had an issue with you tub drain, we appreciate you sharing this with us, it allows us the opportunity to make repair before the next guest.
We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel in Memphis. The pool, the breakfast, the decor...no complaints. Even so, except for sleeping...We spent most of our "hotel time" over at the Peabody Hotel. Our grandson LOVED the ducks parade at 11:00 and the tour of their "duck palace" on the rooftop of this snazzy downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business.

We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here while on our trip to tennessee. the people who worked here were incredibly friendly and willing to help. when we first got to our room it smelled musty but when we told the staff they were more then accomodating and fixed the problem. the room has a microwave, refridgerator, the beds were super comfy. breakfast was great. a little out of the way from the city but easy enough to get to.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business.

We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about their stay and our clean rooms.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind

Address: 4068 Stansell Court, Memphis, TN 38125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now with brand new 32" Hi Def flat screen TVs and HD channels!! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis-Hacks Cross is a beautiful hotel located at Hwy 385/Bill Morris Pkwy and Hacks Cross road in Memphis, TN. Just 1.5 miles from FedEx World Headquarters and Mike Rose Soccer Complex. We are also conveniently located to Carriage Crossing Mall, restaurants, Germantown and Collierville and only a short drive to Beale Street, Graceland, the Memphis Zoo, Fed Ex Forum, and downtown. This hotel offers free hot breakfast, daily, wireless high-speed Internet, business center and airport shuttle. Visit Memphis, TN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.