We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stax Museum of American Soul Music

Stax Museum of American Soul Music
926 E. McLemore Ave, Memphis, TN 38106
901-942-7685
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Stax Museum of American Soul Music like an insider
Top Rated
$78*
and up
Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass
Ranked #5 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stax Museum of American Soul Music, located at the original site of Stax Records in Memphis, Tennessee at 926 E. McLemore Avenue, is a 17,000 square-foot museum offering interactive exhibits, videos, vintage musical instruments used to create the Stax sound, stage costumes, photographs, records, and approximately 3,000 other items of memorabilia that tell the unique story, from beginning to present, of American soul music, particularly that of Stax Records and the Memphis Sound.Artists highlighted include Isaac Hayes, Otis Redding, the Staple Singers, the Bar-Kays, Booker T. & the MGs, Johnnie Taylor, Little Milton, Sam & Dave, Eddie Floyd, Rufus and Carla Thomas, Al Green, Aretha Franklin, Ike & Tina Turner, James Brown, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, and hundreds of others.
Decatur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice tour, lots of information about the blues and early performers. Could use more interactive spots to dig a little deeper into the performers history.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    199
    53
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Historic Spot full of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When I moved from California to Memphis I had no idea how much history and culture the city offered. My first tour of the Stax Museum that fact intensified .The large list of musical entertainers that got their start with Stax and Soulsville USA was astounding and are displayed well with lots of detail..so If you like music , history and taking photos this is a great spot to add to your tour if you visit Memphis.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A wonderful museum with some great outfits on display and the music was wonderful. One of the things I noticed is that the gift shop and photo opportunity was not highly priced, unlike other places I had visited. Well worth a visit, downtown Memphis with a large carpark.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good museum full of delight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to this place after visiting the Sun Studios. Stax's is great but it lacked the human guilded tour that we had experienced at Sun. Even so the place has Stax of info and stuff to look at. You need to be interested in Soul music and if you are then this place really is a delight.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

There was so much to take in it could take you all day, especially if you loved the music and wanted to listen at each exhibit.
Be warned though it is closed on Mondays, we did it as part of a music tour on a Monday and had to complete the tour on Tuesday which we could fortunately do as we had another day in town

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stax Museum of American Soul Music also viewed

 

Been to Stax Museum of American Soul Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stax Museum of American Soul Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.