We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel the soul!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stax Museum of American Soul Music

Stax Museum of American Soul Music
926 E. McLemore Ave, Memphis, TN 38106
901-942-7685
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Stax Museum of American Soul Music like an insider
Top Rated
$78*
and up
Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass
Ranked #5 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stax Museum of American Soul Music, located at the original site of Stax Records in Memphis, Tennessee at 926 E. McLemore Avenue, is a 17,000 square-foot museum offering interactive exhibits, videos, vintage musical instruments used to create the Stax sound, stage costumes, photographs, records, and approximately 3,000 other items of memorabilia that tell the unique story, from beginning to present, of American soul music, particularly that of Stax Records and the Memphis Sound.Artists highlighted include Isaac Hayes, Otis Redding, the Staple Singers, the Bar-Kays, Booker T. & the MGs, Johnnie Taylor, Little Milton, Sam & Dave, Eddie Floyd, Rufus and Carla Thomas, Al Green, Aretha Franklin, Ike & Tina Turner, James Brown, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, and hundreds of others.
Nieuwegein, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feel the soul!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Took a tour that was completely self guided. I enjoyed the really well made movie and the amazing sound of it. After that you're in the mood and can see tons of nice stuff. After the tour there is a medium priced shop. Got a great time!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    199
    53
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edina, MN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Memphis Soul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I suspect almost everyone who visits Memphis tours Graceland and Sun Studio. And while I agree those may be number 1 and 2 on the list, it saddens me just a little that many people must miss the Stax Museum. If Sun Studio feels like a well presented, albeit short tour of the birthplace of rock and roll, then Stax is the Smithsonian quality tour of American Soul Music.

It is located a short drive from downtown Memphis proper and in a sketchy neighborhood. Yet, the grounds of Stax are clean, modern and impressive. Inside, the tour is a large undertaking of what is the Memphis Soul sound. Otis Redding, Booker T and the MGs, Aretha Franklin, Ike and Tina Turner, Isaac Hayes and so many more are professionally and reverently presented for their contributions to American music.

I highly recommend a tour of the Stax Museum and shop when visiting Memphis! Get your groove on, and enjoy Isaac Hayes' fur lined Cadillac!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must See in Memphis!! This museum is HUGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visitied Labor Day Weekend 2012!


Have your children ever seen a LP, 45 or an 8-Track player? Mine had not!!!


So much music history here! You have to see it to belive it!

If you like Blues, R & B and Soul, you must stop here. Give your self at least 3 hours to hear the musica and learn the history of the performers! See Issac Hayes' Gold Plated Cadillac!!

I recommend that the exhibits be orgnanized differently, perhaps chronologically, and then by genre. It would GREAT if there was also an audio tour throughout.

.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun museum !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This museum gave a good overview and background on soul music . It was fun and well put together. Worth the time . Buy a joint ticket with the National Civil Rights Museum and save a little money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf Key, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A really well put-together exhibition for soul music lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a very thorough and comprehensive look at the roots and history of soul and gospel through to the demise of Stax and includes some information about other similar producers such as Hi Records and Muscle Shoals.. You'll learn a lot about the evolution of the music and its most prolific artists. I disagree with the visitor who found this redundant with the Rock and Soul Museum and Sun. There is a little overlap, but the emphasis here is firmly on soul with next to nothing about blues (Albert King recorded for Stax) or rockabilly. I grew up in the NE during the 60s & was certainly conscious of a number of these artists -- Booker T & The MGs, Sam & Dave, Carla Thomas, etc., -- without having been a big fan at the time. I learned a lot here & it connected a lot of musical dots for me. It is in a part of town that's high crime so I'd recommend having your transportation lined up before you need to leave. Several friendly locals we met inside the museum waited with my wife & I out on the sidewalk after closing until our cab came because they were concerned for our safety on the street.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stax Museum of American Soul Music also viewed

 

Been to Stax Museum of American Soul Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stax Museum of American Soul Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.