We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy

Alchemy
940 South Cooper, Memphis, TN 38104
(901) 726-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Florence, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I went there with friends and family and we had a great time. I loved the food and the atmosphere was very nice. Was crowded but not too bad. Will go there again when I am in town.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cocktails and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

During my visit to Memphis to visit friends from college, we went to Alchemy, located in the Cooper Young District. This dining experience was the highlight of my trip. Unique (but pricey) cocktails and wonderful small plates. We each ordered two plates, in two rounds, and all 6 plates were original and wonderful. This place is trendy, modern, and fun. It is a place to see and be seen, filled with the hip and beautiful people of Memphis.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The food and service at Alchemy is outstanding. I have frequented this restaurant four times over the past 3 months. Every experieince has been exceptional. The scallops are the best I have eaten. Other favorites include the crab cakes, fish tacos, maccaroni & rock shrimp. This restaurant is primarily small plates (tapas) style which allows you many opportunities to try different tastes without loading up on one flavor. The decor is very trendy but the atmosphere is casual and friendly. My favorite dessert is car bomb pudding. can't wait to go back as they are always adding new items.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine wine, great environment, and people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A great establishment with a city look and feel. Located in the heart of mid-town, this trendy restaurant contains a vibrant atmosphere for great people to meet and socialize.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“happenin' place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Dont come for a romantic dinner, it is far from quite and intimate, but come for the "big city" feel. Trendy, noisy, fabulous small plates. I have never seen so many beautiful 30-40ish people. There are lots of non meat items that are creative and fun. Reservation a must, or get there early. Great bar scene.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

 
Memphis, TN
 

Been to Alchemy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.