We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chicken, sides were decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
730 S. Mendenhall Rd., Memphis, TN 38117
(901) 767-2323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,199 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good chicken, sides were decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The chicken was great, the potato salad was alright, the Mac and cheese was awesome and the sweet tea was perfect. Service was mediocre. The fried pickles were okay, I've had better. It is disappointing they didn't have an alternative to the spicy chicken for kids but they had peanut butter sandwiches. The kids had water and when I tasted it at the end I realized it was awful, full of salt. That was concerning. Baked beans and cole slaw were good, says the hubby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    120
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Chicken With a Kick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Some of the best fried chicken we've had! If you normally don't eat the skin, you will definitely want to at Gus's. The standard recipe has a slight kick that is out of this world. The coleslaw and beans were also very good. We normally don't rate 5's, but this meal deserves a 4.5 rating. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Keep the BBQ, I'll take Gus' !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

By far the best fried chicken I've ever had. Gus' is always consistent and a good time. It's noisy crowded and darn good food. Enjoy it and meet your neighbors!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went to Gus's for the first time this past week. This was absolutely the best fried chicken i have ever had. Crispy,not hard.Juicy and a little spicy. Dakota our waiter was phenomenal. I went back the next night just to have something for after Beale Street. You have to taste this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy, Just Good Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second visit here. Both times the food was good. In fact, I remember the mac and cheese being better this time. It isn't a fancy place, but the food is excellent and the service is sufficient.

The only knock is the nickel and dime attitude. Why do you need to charge to change sides or for extra sauce for the tenders? 50 cents is nothing to me or the restaurant, but it is enough to be annoying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.