We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LONG LINES BUT WORTH IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerry's Sno Cones

Jerry's Sno Cones
1657 Wells Station Road, Memphis, TN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,198 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American
Description: The most incredible snow cones, icees, and even burgers in Memphis, TN Featured in Jerry Lee Lewis movie "Great Balls of Fire" . Check out facebook or just google the name, Snow cones in hundreds of flavors and combinations. Hidden in a off the road small east Memphis neighborhood, but always line waiting to order. The snow cones are addictive, you can't get enough and the "wedding cake supreme" is to die for. Listed as #5 in reasons to love Memphis!
Restaurant details
Description: The most incredible snow cones, icees, and even burgers in Memphis, TN Featured in Jerry Lee Lewis movie "Great Balls of Fire" . Check out facebook or just google the name, Snow cones in hundreds of flavors and combinations. Hidden in a off the road small east Memphis neighborhood, but always line waiting to order. The snow cones are addictive, you can't get enough and the "wedding cake supreme" is to die for. Listed as #5 in reasons to love Memphis!
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“LONG LINES BUT WORTH IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Snowcones like no where else! Lines are normally 30+ people deep, takes about 30 minutes so be ready.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'm from Louisiana-birthplace of the Snow Cone and consider myself something of an aficionado on this particular topic. The ice is perfect and the syrups (and there are many, many to choose from!) are excellent. I would like to see a different spearmint syrup as I prefer the one "back home" but that is the ONLY thing I can nid-pick on! They have two wedding cakes, one white and one red. Both are fantastic and shouldn't be missed. Back home a popular flavor is the Pink Lady-- they don't have it listed as such at Jerry's but it can be ordered--it's a nectar with cream (condensed milk). The line that wraps around this place speaks for itself! It's a Memphis gem!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Could have been a 5star, but missed by that much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've lived in the Memphis area all my life and I'd never heard of this place until about three months ago. Apparently I missed growing up in this city going here. (We went to the now-defunct Snow Cream Castle). So, we were driving through the area this past Saturday and decided to check it out. The location is inconvenient for me, but that isn't really their fault. Entirely located in a residential neighborhood, it is apparently a converted gas station, brightly painted and busy as nobody's business. On a Saturday in June around noon, there were 20-25 people waiting for food.

Both my wife an I had supreme cones (sno-cone with ice cream layered in the cup), and both my kids went old-school, with just the ice. The ice cream is a good touch which gives a smooth compliment to the ice, which is very well done. Too often sno-cones are too granular and lack enough syrup to pull it together. The sno-cone is melt-in-your mouth texture with plenty of flavor. On food alone, I give them a solid 5 (as far as sno-cones go, this is as good as it gets).

The place itself is a bit of a different story. The building is loudly painted in yellow pink and blue. There's not a stich of shade anywhere to be seen, which is not great for a hot summer day, especially when you're going to be waiting a while. No place to sit, you just have to stand around and wait for your order to be up.

Service was slower than expected. Part of what brings this down to a four. Orders are not kept together. I ordered 4 different items which were all delivered over a 5 minute period, interspersed with other people's orders, making pickup very confusing with 20 people, some of whom, may have ordered the same thing you did. Keep the orders together and in sequence, build a shaded area with picnic tables, and put a few more people to fill orders and I could easily see bumping them to a 5.

I won't be seeking this place out, but if I'm within a 3 mile radius and the temperature is over 80, we'll stop by.

I'm still not sure how I ever missed hearing about them, plus the oldest tripadvisor review is from 2011, makes me wonder if they really only opened a few years ago and everyone confuses them with some place that was older.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tupelo, ms
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hands down the best Sno Cones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

So the way to go is pick a flavor and Supreme it! What that means is that you get a 16oz cup with soft serve icecream on the bottom then sno cone then another layer of soft serve then more sno cone then another soft serve then sno cone then a dollop of soft serve on top. Amazing! Some of the best are Strawberry Cheesecake and Orchid. Best sno cones ever!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic little stand plopped down in a mostly residential neighborhood. So many flavors to pick from and the ice is cut to just to the right texture. Get yours "supreme." Supreme means they put soft serve in with the sno cone. Sounds weird, but I love it! I usually go for the pina colada, but they have so many great flavors. My husband gets the cookie dough. I don't know how they make ice taste like cookie dough, but they really do. Their food menu is great too. Nice big burgers and surprisingly, they have muffalettas. I love muffalettas and they have one of the best in the city. Definitively worth the trip out there. During the summer the line can get long, and for good reason!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerry's Sno Cones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerry's Sno Cones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.