We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly to travelers and pets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6069 Macon Cove, Memphis, TN 38134-7600   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 135 hotels in Memphis
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly to travelers and pets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our experience with LaQuinta in general is that the properties are good values and run well. This hotel, on the east side of Memphis, shows that good hoteliers can make customers happy even during renovations.

Our rate was very good (we're AARP members) and the room they gave us was larger than we expected. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night, so occupancy was down. They chose to give us a nicer room just because they had one, What others have said about the beds is true. Extraordinarily comfortable.

The free breakfast was not as lavish as some others, but it was perfectly adequate. What really made our stay special was that the management stopped more than once to ask us how they were doing and talk about our visit to Memphis.

They didn't charge us for having a dog with us and had a good walking area behind this urban hotel. We look forward to stopping there again when their improvements are complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear: David D
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with our hotel. We would like to thank you for your kind words, and also thank you for being patience with our renovation. It's nice to know that you had enjoyed the room type you had for your stay. Here at La Quinta Inn & Suites our staff and the management we love to make our guest feel like they're at home. We will be glad to see you again in the near future.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    75
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
111
64
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atanta, GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were just going to be in town for the night and I found this hotel by the reviews. The room was large, the bed was the best we had on our small 3 night road trip and the service was good. The lobby area and first floor were all under renovation, but this was not a problem for the one night. I saw where they were serving breakfast, but we thought we would get something on the road (long story, but Hwy 78 is boring and nothing is on it). I don't thing there was much in this section of town, we got in after dark and left early, so I am not sure. For the hotel by itself, we would stay there again, it was also the cheapest of our 3 night stay and the best bed of them all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear: Skyarrow1
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had picked our hotel, and that you liked our bed. I would like apologize about our renovation. We would love to serve and every guest who steps into our hotel the best customer service that we can provide. We hope to see you in the near fear.

Thank You,
Ap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN and MS
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Memphis on the end of a very long trip and after viewing reviews on line about the beds thought that we would give it a try. Yes, it is in upgrade mode but the room was clean and bath clean. The breakfast is served on restaurant dishes rather than paper (nice to drink coffee out of a real cup) and was very good. The staff is friendly and the owner is on the property. Now then, the bedding is wonderful and the pillows, being new, are great. Made for an excellent nights rest. Yes, it is pet friendly but does not have a great area to walk your pet. Parking is at hotel. Excellent quality for price, and yes, they did honor our "senior" discounts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear: ommie7

Thank you for your excellent review, we really appreciate you for taking the time to write the review. We are glad that you had chosen us from the reviews you had read from our hotel. It's nice to know how you liked our dishware in the breakfast room. We also apologize that we did not had enough space to walk your pets.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenvil, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The pool is no more. We book looking for pools which help my wife with her travel pains due to Fybromyalgia. However, what was worse was the desk person all but accused me of lying when I told him I had seen it listed after asking for the hours it was open. He emphasized that they had removed it from the online listings, yet I had booked it having seen pictures of the pool, read reviews of the pool, and seen it checked off as an amenity on at least one travel site. I asked if there was anything he could do and he offered to upgrade me to a Jacuzzi room (at full cost to me ... not sure how that was "doing" something for me?). We negotiated down SOME on the room upgrade and got the room for $150 with taxes ... a $50 bump in over-all cost on the stay, which I later regretted. The room appeared generally dingy/worn on entrance, but at a glance ok. After dinner and unpacking we discovered long black hairs floating around in the Jacuzzi, which turned my wife off from using it. Stray hair graced other surfaces too. When I turned on the TV, it immediately began to fill the room with the sounds and scenes of loud energetic porn. Thankfully no kids were with us as I was preoccupied with something else while the TV loaded and it took me much longer than was comfortable to find the remote and rectify the problem. The AC unit was barely moving air and I discovered that the filters for the AC unit were totally filthy. The dog barking in the room next door was honestly pretty nominal and not enough to complain about, but it didn't help given the rest of context. As a dog owner I'm sympathetic. Of course, at this point it was very late, we were very tired, we had already unpacked our personals and such and didn't want to hassle with trying to fix it, so we just passed out. My wife and I travel about 5-6 weeks of total time a year, most of it in hotels/resorts. This was the worst room we've shared at anything over $60 that I can remember (we generally stay in stuff $80-150 except special occasions). I would assume there have to be other hotels in the area that actually have a pool, or that at least would be clean and presentable (the first time) at this price point. The bed was fine/comfortable, the shower was hot, the over-all room layout was a little odd with the Jacuzzi making it feel cramped and awkward. We didn't try the breakfast. In fairness, we didn't try to have hotel staff rectify any of said problems because we came in late from a long trip, had a long trip ahead of us the next day and simply didn't want to handle all the hassle of the extra effort of trying to get a replacement room and then having to re-pack and relocate all our stuff to a new room, or having to try to haggle over refunds the next day. They may have done something more to help us out, but first impressions really do matter when you're paying that much for a room. Especially for travelers on the go, they (or at least I) don't want to have to work harder at making a short one-night stay acceptable, especially not at this price point.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs corner Jacuzzi room to the right side of the main lobby, unless they've don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear: Mike O

Thank you for taking your time to write the review about your experience with us. We would like to apologize to you about the trouble you had at our hotel. I also would like to apologize on behalf of our front desk clerk. As you can see we do our best to keep our guest happy from the reviews we have, we would like to get a second chance from you we will do our best to service you.

Thank You,
Ap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This motel was located very close to where we needed to go, very handy to almost everything, including the airport. The place was clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was quite adequate. The pool was closed due to upgrading, not of any importance to us, but some other guests expressed disappointment. Not located in the most desirable part of town, but nevertheless, the grounds were clean and well kept, with mass plantings of the most beautiful roses on all 4 sides of the facility with an outdoor water feature out front. Parking was easy, and there was a variety of nearby restaurants for which to dine or catch a quick snack. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear: GT380185

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you for taking your time to write the review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and you liked our grounds keeping. The picture is really good. We also appreciate your business and we would be glad to have you for years to come.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The management really helped out with my trip schedule. This is the only hotel with this price range that is so accommodating. I would definitely recommend it to whoever planning to stay around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear: Jason Y

Thank you for your candid comments. We are glad to hear that your trip has been scheduled as you have planned. And we hope that you enjoy your trip to Memphis, tn, and your stay at our hotel. Your business means a lot to us and we will be glad to have your business for many years to come.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Memphis/Sycamore View Hotel
La Quinta Inn And Suites Memphis/Sycamore View Hotel Memphis
La Quinta Memphis
Memphis La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Memphis
Address: 6069 Macon Cove, Memphis, TN 38134-7600
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
#9 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#12 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offers warm, friendly staff & great service,comfortable lodging with Pillow top mattress to make sure you'll visit again. hot Breakfast free WI-Fi and more to enjoy every time you visit.The La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East I-40 Sycamore View was recently named a 2012 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.