We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Homewood Suites is awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5811 Poplar Avenue, Memphis, TN 38119   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Republic, MO, United States
1 review
“The Homewood Suites is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at Homewood Suites, Poplar Ave., Memphis, TN. The staff, which included the desk, cooks, waiters/waitresses were very nice, knowledgeable and helpful. Most of all, they were very friendly! The hotel was very clean and actually had a "new" feeling. Even the bed was super comfortable! If I travel back to Memphis, TN, I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    77
    30
    25
    11
See reviews for
107
35
13
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savage, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Staff was excellent and so was the location. The complimentary breakfast was convenient. The evening meal was also nice. The suite was much bigger than we thought. We had too much room. Poplar Avenue has all the amenities we needed and worked out well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Homewood Suites. This is an older style Homewood Suites with many detached buildings containing the suites. Although most likely an older hotel, it appeared to have been recently renovated as the common areas and our room all seemed clean, bright, and modern. The carpet and room furnishings all appeared relatively new. Our two-bedroom suite was a comfortable size, although the kitchen was a little small and the table only sat 2 people, which was surprising for a suite that easily sleeps 4 people. Like all Homewood Suites an efficiency kitchen with dishes is provided, as well as a sitting room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. During the week, a light evening meal is offered, and was quite good, especially the freshly baked cookies, and a hot breakfast is provided every morning, with freshly baked muffins. The staff was always very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located right off I-240, about 15-20 minutes from downtown (with no traffic). My biggest complaint about the hotel is the traffic. During rush hour (4-6 pm), the traffic in front of the hotel is non-stop. The most direct route from I-240 to the hotel uses a U-turn loop in the median, but getting enough of a break in the traffic to actually re-enter the road can take a very long time, and usually required ‘flooring it’ and praying the oncoming traffic would stop. Exiting the hotel is a little better because there is a turn lane that can be used to accelerate (extending this lane back 100 feet would largely solve the entrance problem). The morning rush was also a bit of a challenge, but it seemed less so than in the evening. Other times of day were no problem.

There seemed to be a pretty active police presence at the hotel. I never felt unsafe and it seems like a reasonably good neighborhood, but perhaps the hotel and police just want to make sure it stays that way. I would definitely stay at the hotel again the next time I’m in the Memphis area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. We stay at Hilton properties frequently but this hotel really defines value. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the property is maintained at an extremely high level both outside and inside. Housekeeping makes the extra effort to make sure everything is just right in the suites so you feel right at home. The hotel is near great places to eat and to shop and is a great place to stay whether for work or leisure. The center courtyard area has a great pool and even a basketball court. During the complimentary breakfasts and dinners, we have had great conversations with other guests who were also enjoying their stays. Overall, this hotel is a GREAT place to stay and we will plan on staying there multiple times per year as we visit family attending school in Memphis.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were in different locations and both were excellent - quiet and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Homewood Suites really makes you feel like you are in a home away from home. The staff is courteous and always willing to assist you in whatever you may need. You cannot beat all the qualities this property offers to it's price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

WOW is all I can say for this hotel. New renovated lobby looks gorgeous. This hotel offers complimentary dinner Monday through Thursday. The dinner is a buffet and definietly fills you up! Daily complimentary breakfast is a hearty breakfast with options rivaling area restaurants. Best yet, you receive a suite for virtually the same price as a standard room elsewhere. I will definitely recommend this property to anyone staying in the area for leisure AND business travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabool, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Very clean room and service, extremely friendly and helpful staff, a wonderful complimentary breakfast every morning and an overall excellent hotel and lobby. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Address: 5811 Poplar Avenue, Memphis, TN 38119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#20 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.