We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5811 Poplar Avenue, Memphis, TN 38119   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #14 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

A must stay.. My stay from beginning to end was amazing! The handsome gentleman at the front desk was so polite and well mannered!! Our location was wonderful, the room however had no cups but It was no problem that couldn't be solved. The space was very reasonable, the beds are BIG and I loved the closet space and spacious bathroom area.. Despite the rainy depressing weather my weekend was GREAT at the hotel... I will definite be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for submitting such kind words to the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate all of our guest's feedback. Without your responses, we would not be able to consistently improve our product to match your needs. I am truly happy that our staff and accommodations made all the difference on a rainy day. We look forward to your next stay with us and thanks again for calling us "home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    81
    32
    26
    11
See reviews for
115
40
15
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a two bedroom unit that was pet friendly. The unit was spacious and very comfortable but a little shabby in the main living area. The beds and linens were great and the internet was fast. Breakfast was also very nicely done. Only disappointment was traffic noise and the staff at the reception desk were not very welcoming or friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room located on the inside gardens of hotel - much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything was very nice in the room, the free breakfast and dinner were kind of gross. The gym area was out of towels and didn't have sanitizing cloths. Over all it's a very nice place to stay, especially if you are going to be in town for longer than two nights. And be sure to have dinner at the River Oaks next door!! Delicious food!

Room Tip: The first floor room windows do not open, if you life fresh air try to get one on an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Traveling with a family of 5, it was nice to have a full suite with two rooms and a bed in the den as well. They were able to find us the suite and give us an corporate discount very quickly, even though we did not have advanced reservations. I am a big breakfast person, and the breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: I did not have room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here this past week. It was nice to have two bedrooms and two bathrooms plus a living room and kitchenette. There were two negatives we found with this hotel; it was a bit tricky to find the entrance and the beds were too firm. Nevertheless, it's a good value for the weary traveler with a family. It's located in a nice area with restaurants and shopping near-by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was glad I had GPS to find the entrance--it is a bit awkward getting here. We had a room with 2 double beds. It is always nice to have a suite with a bedroom and a living room/kitchen area and 2 tvs, so there is not as much of a fight over tv channels. The pool is outside so it is closed for the winter--all the other Homewood Suites I have stayed at have had indoor pools. Breakfast wise, I am used to Homewood having a large pot of oatmeal. The only thing I found was instant grits. The did have eggs (with some sort of meat in it), sausage and hashbrown potatoes, yogurt, fresh fruit, cold cereal, and bagels/toast. They had make your own waffles. They had what I would call a scone that my teenage daughter really liked. My biggest complaint was the heating unit in our room. It was so loud I had to turn it off so I could sleep, then turn it back on to heat up the room before I took a shower. In the room, they store all the dishes in the dishwasher so they can wash them in between guests, which I thought was a good idea to make sure the dishes are clean when a new guest arrives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice hotel. like the suite seperate living and bedroom. Internet was kind of slow and kept dropping at times. Nice evening reception.Great value for the price of the room. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Address: 5811 Poplar Avenue, Memphis, TN 38119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#17 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.