We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Court Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Australia
1 review
“perfect PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Our 3 day stay there was great . So clean the rooms and the staff were lovely they couldnt do enough for us We will go there again on our next trip excellent all round service..............Lovely cleaners

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    208
    75
    34
    11
See reviews for
169
135
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We journeyed across the Mississippi River to enjoy a nice, relaxing weekend in Memphis. Having tickets at the Orpheum, we wanted to stay downtown. After research downtown hotels, I selected Springhill Suites. we have been nothing but delighted with our stay. I had requested a suite in the historic Kress building--the rooms here are gorgeous. They have renovated this old department store building into beautiful suites. The hotel rooms have huge windows, amazing moldings around the ceiling, and furnishings that are true to the period of the early 20th century--art deco-like touches abound. We also have a huge framed photo of the building taken, I would guess from the clothing on the people, in the 1930s showing the original trolley in the foreground. The Kress Buildings were architectural gems and this building is no different. Our room overlooked a downtown park square and the other buildings around are also architectural delights. We had two "rooms"--a half wall separated them, but unlike many other suite hotels, this was a full floor-to-ceiling wall, so if one person wanted to sit up late in the sitting room, the other party could go to bed in relative peace. We had two TVs--one in the bedroom area and one in the sitting room. Not new HD TVs, but ok TVs. The sitting room was furnished with a love seat and comfy arm chair, plus a nice work desk and appropriate occasional tables. A nice "kitchenette" area featured a microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge in attractive cabinetry with granite counters. The bathroom has a separate sink area which is nice and we had plenty of good towels.

How anyone could complain about the bedding here is beyond me. We had a new very comfortable mattress that was no so high that you could not sit on it! It was made up with lots of very nice pillows and outstanding linens--very high end thread count and the top blanket was sandwiched between two top sheets--I always like that touch.

A word about the trolleys. We selected this hotel because it was on the trolley line, wanting to use them as transportation around downtown Memphis. The sound did not bother us, but I can see how someone not used to city noises might be--if that is the case, ask for a room that does not front on the trolleys. We thought the trolley was a nice addition to the atmosphere.

We did not have breakfast here as we wanted to go out for a special brunch--Memphis has lots of restaurants that feature jazz brunches or other live entertainment and dishes we cannot get in our hometown restaurants--but we got morning coffees there (there is a nice fireplace in the lobby to sit by and sip coffee. when my husband first went to the coffee, they were out of coffee and the breakfast room had no one in it. He was a bit annoyed. However, once informed that the pots were empty, the attendant bustled quickly to refill the pots. The breakfast featured waffles to cook, cooked oatmeal, and a steam table with biscuits, some type of egg product, sausages, ham, plus the usual assortment of cold cereals, breads, and fruit. The coffee was nice and real cream was available (something they should consider in the rooms with the coffee service there).

The staff seemed a bit overworked, but the young woman at the desk when we arrived was amazingly efficient and, in spite of being really overworked, incredibly nice and pleasant. She handled a rush of new guests, as well as one who was having problems with the wireless internet in her room, with grace, speed, and a bit of humor. The valet moved quickly to get our car taken care of. Assistance was offered with luggage (one bag, we declined). BTW, the valet parking is the same price as the regular parking, so feel free to take it--downtown parking is a premium always and $12 is not an outrageous parking fee. This is not a suburban motor hotel where land is cheap and not everyone who arrives at a downtown hotel will have a car. If you only do things downtown, you will enjoy the luxury of having it parked safely and using the public transportation. It is also a convenient location for walking to many activities.

The hotel fronts on the lovely pedestrian mall area of Main Street, so you have to enter off of Front Street at the back, but our GPS got us here just fine and there is a sign directing you to their check in area on Front. All in all, we had a lovely stay in a room that looks like luxury and at a price that, for downtown Memphis, was a bargain. We will certainly stay here again. Other than having to prod the attendant in the breakfast room to make more coffee, we had few complaints. I wish they would put coffee creamers (real cream) out in the rooms instead of the convenience packs of powder, but few hotels do that. We snagged some off of the coffee bar in the evening. We also asked for additional decaf coffee for in room and were given several packs. The coffee, for the prepacked type, was really rather nice, as well. Ice was readily available on our floor and the elevators are spacious (I have a wheel chair and not all downtown hotels have good elevators--old buildings often are retrofitted with elevators added to small areas) and fast and conveniently located. I would fully recommend it to anyone wanting to stay downtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

If you would like to toss and turn on a horrible, hard bed with crappy pillows, then this is the hotel for you........ I've slept better in "flea-bag" motels than in this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, HI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

As someone who has worked in the hospitality industry, I was seriously offended with the front desk customer service. We barely received a hello at check in, the least amount of eye contact possible, when he did speak to us it was with total disinterest, it was as if we were bothering him by simply checking in! And to top all of that off, his name tag read "Front Desk Manager" wow. There wasn't even another customer in the lobby so I didn't understand the attitude/lack of friendliness, it's not like he was swamped and too busy to be nice. It really bothered me as I was so excited to be in Memphis, it kind of started us off on the wrong foot. Then when we left in the morning and passed by the front desk, no one even bothered to look up for a simple hello, good morning, nothing.

Besides that, the room was fine. Bed was good. Wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA / ME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I am sitting in the lobby at 2:00pm still waiting for a room. I understand that check in is officially 3:00pm, but at 11:00am the front desk said that the rooms should be cleaned and ready within the hour. Traveling with a million-point Marriott customer and a performer who is under some serious time constraints with the blues challenge going on this weekend, I would have hoped that they could be more accomodating.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed in the Kress Suites of the hotel. We had a suite of two rooms. Astonishingly, the one TV is in the bedroom. None in the sitting room, which had a desk, sofa, and two lounge chairs. Not a good design for Marriott. Embassy Suites gives you a TV in each room. Also, no portable rack for luggage like most hotels. Other reviewers have commented on the noise from the trolley running on Main Street below. Didn't bother/annoy us at all. Hey! We're in the city!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel is on Front Street! Ignore your GPS, maps and even the hotel's own internet directory.
The Bellman was johnny-on-the-spot! Very nice. Very helpful.
Too bad the bellman doesn't run the place because he was the best part of the hotel.

Carpet filthy. Tiny TV with poor reception. Only one dresser drawer could be opened; the rest were stuck. A/C unit made a horrible racket! Called maintenance to fix and he revealed that the a/c was just a patchwork of duct tape fixes from previous complaints. That's okay...we'll just turn the a/c off and open the window...nope; they're stuck too (and the trolley is right outside) ask for a room on the 'quiet side' of the hotel. Went to dining room to eat and water was pouring through ceiling from broken toilet on second floor. Elevator was right out of 3rd world.

It's sad because this COULD be a wonderful property. It really could.
But it's not. Especially at semi-premium rates.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Address: 85 West Court Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#18 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.