We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service I've experienced in my life.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Court Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst service I've experienced in my life.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Housekeeping:
• A dirty sponge was left in our room on day 2, presumably by the housekeeper. It was not removed throughout our entire stay.
• Soap and lotions were not replenished, despite being used, on day 2.
• On day 3, we were only given 2 clean towels instead of the 4 we needed and received the first two days.
• When passing a housekeeper in the hallway, we were ignored and not greeted. No good morning or hello. They looked in the other direction when we passed them. THIS IS NOT MARRIOTT.

Breakfast:
• We ate breakfast all 3 mornings and not once did the associates in the breakfast area greet us or say good morning.
• All 3 mornings, food was running out and not replenished despite 30+ minutes remaining of service. Oatmeal was empty, milk was frozen, bread was depleted and food was removed from the buffet 15-30 minutes prior to the close of service.
• On Sunday morning the toaster literally lit on fire. The breakfast room quickly filled with smoke. NO SMOKE DETECTOR WENT OFF. The staff was barely concerned and did not react with any sense of urgency. This is concerning.
• When food was empty, the staff was nowhere to be found to ask for more.
• Throughout the breakfast area are beautiful signs describing the “seasonal” menu with fresh fruit. There was nothing fresh or seasonal about the buffet.
• Cereal selections: there was nothing with more than 3 grams of fiber such as Kashi (still a Kellogg’s product).

Front Desk Staff:
• Every time we approached the front desk, we were ignored by the front desk associate while they finished what they were doing on the computer or phone. The y did not say hello or thank us for waiting or ask us to wait.
• One day we asked for transportation to Graceland. We were put in touch with “Last Minute Transportation” who ended up abandoning us at a restaurant 3 miles from downtown after we paid $70 even though they said they would pick us up.
• The next day we asked for a taxi to take us to the Civil Rights Museum. Instead of a taxi, the front desk agent called Last Minute Transportation. We were forced to pay $10 to go 4 blocks away.

Fitness Room:
• The gym was scorching hot – no A/C.
• There were no towels in the gym all 3 days.

Overall Service:
• The staff throughout the hotel was less than friendly.
• The staff did not smile or say hello when passing.
• The associates appeared to be lazy and not happy.
• There were no smiles or pleasantries – we were ignored the entire time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    208
    75
    34
    11
See reviews for
169
135
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Stayed here the end of February 2009, and it was as nice a place as any I've used in Memphis. The room was very clean and comfortable. But, if you don't want to hear the noise of the vintage streetcars, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. It's valet parking only nowadays. The complimentary breakfast is about the standard - cereal, bagels, waffles, fruit, yogurt, and sausage, eggs and biscuits. The unfortunate part of downtown Memphis is the number of homeless and beggars, and most hotels have security at all hours to discourage them. It's reasonably safe to walk around downtown to place like Rendezvous and Beale Street, but stay in a group at night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Their address is 21 North Main street, but that is a Trolley/pedestrian only zone at that addresss. The actual entrance is off of Court street. We can laugh now, but the GPS didn't know it wasn't a street for cars. Parking was 12$ a day Valet or self park. Anyway, speaking of trolleys, for goodness sake, when you check in, ask for a room on the other side of the property from the trolley. The train runs every few minutes and makes quite a racket. It runs until 1:30 am and starts up again in early am. The opposite side is much quieter with a nice view of the river. Also, ask for the 7th floor if possible, We started out on the 5th floor on the trolley side and asked to be moved within the first hour. Our upstairs neighbors were either a herd of elephants or the floors are not well insulated for noise. On the 7th floor, you have the best view and no floors above you. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The Walgreens across the street closes early, so be sure you have your advil before closing time because there is no where nearby and the lobby "store" has no "toiletries". We were three girls traveling without a fellow and felt just perfectly safe the whole trip. The trolley to Beale street was convenient (of course, the stop is right outside the property) and only costs a $1.00 each way, but they only take correct change. Beale street has good food and this time of winter was fairly quiet. We had dinner at BB Kings. You have to pay cover charges everywhere, even if you are just going in to eat. But it is to be expected. And of course, all the standard tourist shops line the street. Fun for an evening. We even took a carraige ride in a horse drawn carraige with a white lit up "pumpin" Cinderella carraige. $45 for a half hour but was a great time and they took us home to our hotel. All in all, be careful navigating your way into downtown. Springhill Suites was great and I would highly recommend this property. Breakfast was very good and so was the coffee. One more thing, they actually have rooms DIRECTLY across from the doors to the elevators. If they put you in any room that ends with 05 you will get to listen to the elevator bell at all hours of the night. Also, the rooms have room safes in them for security, but ours didn't work, unfortunately. Have fun in Memphis!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

After much angst reading & re-reading reviews of hotels in the general downtown Memphis area, I selected this hotel because of it's location. It's adjacent to the trolley line that runs along Main Street and the Riverfront. This connects you with Beale Street and the other downtown attractions. We went to the metro office and got 3-day passes (a long walk, but doable) and never moved our car out of the hotel lot.

This hotel is a typical Marriott and very nicely decorated. Better-than-average free breakfast with hot items: bacon, sausage, eggs (pre-fab type), do-it-yourself waffles, oatmeal, etc. Really more than adequate. One lame complaint about the room - it was a two room suite with only 1 TV in the bedroom, which essentially made the 'front' room useless. I suppose most folks don't watch that much TV when they're on vacation, but my husband came down with a cold and so I had more time than usual in the rooms - I had to sit on the bed to watch TV while there was all this nice comfortable furniture in the other room.

There were some vagrants in the area (typical of the urban blight that older parts of town can suffer from), but it was very clean and in the process of revitalization. We didn't encounter anyone that was aggressive or threatening in any way. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. There are 'docent' like volunteers all thru the downtown area to answer questions and help with directions. It all felt very safe and I was never uncomfortable.

  • Liked — Accessability to event
  • Disliked — Lack of TV in 'front' room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Check in was slow and it was packed as we were there for the Liberty Bowl. The manager was very courteous and explained that they had lots to clean because New Year's was the night before.
Our room was very nice, better than expected. We were in the historic part with an efficiency. It was just what we needed. Very clean and nicely furnished.

This was also a good location close to dining, Beale St. and the Trolley. We walked around 2:30 a.m. and no one bothered us a bit.

  • Liked — Nice, new furnishings
  • Disliked — slow check in
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We had trouble finding a room for the night due to a convention in town, but we were lucky to find the Spring Hill. I agree with other reviews that it was hard to find, and our room was on the side with the trolley, which could be heard through the window. That said, the room was pristine clean, the bed was very comfy, and it was a small suite with a sofa, siting area, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-fridge. The staff was friendly; we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Suite area, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Noise from the trolley.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

I've stayed at alot of hotels, and my wife is picky. We both loved out stay here. The front dest was nice and helpful. Self parking was about 50 yards from the front door. The back door opened up to the trolly tracks that headed towards the strip. Only 3 or 4 blocks from Beal St. Our room was very clean and well kept.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Location, 4 blocks from Beal St.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Address: 85 West Court Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#17 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.