We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOTALLY UNDER RATED!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 North Third Street, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #75 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Heber Springs, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TOTALLY UNDER RATED!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We had four family's stay at the Econolodge Downtown last weekend. The hotel, staff, price and location were all WONDERFUL. My husband and I travel at least twice a month and have stayed at alot of different hotels. I have to say this was the nicest one yet!!! If you are looking for a 4 star hotel, no this is not for you!!! However, it is TOP NOTCH for it's two star rating!! We will most definitley stay here again when in Memphis.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    95
    44
    57
See reviews for
36
101
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Has an excellent location, and that's it.Owner should be ashamed.Clean your place up,elevator was very scary.There was a pill on the floor right beside the bed and after four nights it was still there.Found dead bugs,don't know what they were.Its too bad because it has such a good location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Excellent location right in the heart of Memphis - 5 minutes from Beale Street and Peabody hotel. Large room with king size bed and large bathroom. Pool was clean but did not use as only there for 1 night.
Easy check-in and parking is below the hotel on floors 1-7 then hotel rooms above - $10 to park. Excellent welcome and check in.
Price $73 plus tax - again excellent value compared to hotels in the area

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very friendly staff on reception. Room had a strange smell and is in need of a refubishment. Low budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH EAST
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

stayed for 4 days before travelling to las vagas ,
bit apprehensive due to some reviews,but cant see what people are complaining about .
location 5 mins walk from centre if that about 500-600 yards .area bit run down but no problems with locals we met all very friendly.
hotel is above car park and reception is in car park and not your usual large foyer with restaurants etc
take life to room.
corridor bit smelly but nothing affective
we were on 8th floor and the room was quite big for our use and most important clean
and tidy, not the most classy décor or furniture but no complaints.
also the pool is on the 8th floor so a bonus.
to breakfast,well its down the lift and over to night club across the car park entrance,
it consists of bagels ,danish and muffins,that seem fresh to us.
juice and coffee .first gripe NO TEA, although the assistant did get us some hot water and we supplied the tea bags.
the other gripes no safe or deposit box and fridge extra
staff friendly willing to help.
so to round up,clean ,good location,free breakfast,pool,
and best of all price compared to some other local hotels ,
if cost is no problem and you want the best of every thing go to peabodys.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed here in September on a one day trip of the city. I booked based on cost and location. Total for the room with parking cost $95. The location is great - only 4 block walk to Beale Street, but it was not the best property to stay at. It was a bit smelly, very old, not that clean (I do think I got bit by bedbugs here too). I would recommend one of the other properties in town - splurge a little more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I travel for a living and stay in hotels in the $50 to $100 range 3 times a week so this isnt a review by someone who only has hotel stays a few times a year. This was a quick weekend trip with my wife and i was surprised / relieved by this hotel after reading the other reviews.
1) Parking was convenient and cheap for location. $10
2) Check in and out were quick,easy, and room was correct. ( king bed )
3) Elevators as previously mentioned by other reviewers were hot,small, and slow but I was only in the elevator for about two minutes a day so no big deal there.
4) The room was large and clean, bed was comfortable, had two comfortable chairs, tv and air conditioner both had operational wireless remotes...nice touch on the a/c
5) The furniture and bedding while not new were still in very good condition and not dirty
6) Any other hotel in this ssame area would cost at least twice as much. I have stayed at 3 previously. Easy walk to all downtown locations. I am not by any means an avid walker.

The downside...( nothing to serious but i know some people are picky) :
All rooms are marked non smoking but my room (smoking by request) had an ashtray and upon calling the front desk was told that it was a smoking room.
There was a 2" pipe running across the top of the room on one wall but it was painted to match the wall and caused me no harm.
The breakfast situation seemed a little questionable so I didnt even go check it out plus there was a coffee pot in the room.
The bathroom was small and the water pressure wasnt that great but then again that was not a big part of my trip.
'

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis

Address: 22 North Third Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.