We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never even stayed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 North Third Street, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #75 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Branson West, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never even stayed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely rude staff!!!! We booked a room on-line and never received an e-mail to confirm. When we contacted the hotel we were told it was booked for the incorrect date. We attempted to correct the date with the hotel and were told they could not correct in house we had to contact Choice Hotels. We contacted Choice Hotels and were told that the hotel had to correct the problem. Again we contacted the hotel and the individual answering the phones became very rude and hateful stating that they were overbooked for that date by 12 rooms and she couldn't help us. She stated the conversation was done and hung up. I have tried to contact a supervisor repeatedly but since she answers the phone get no where. If this is the way the treat individuals trying to book a room how to they treat guests??? We are Choice Hotel friends and family members and try to stay within the Choice Hotel group. I do not recommend even trying this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    95
    44
    57
See reviews for
36
101
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bull Shoals, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its not a posh hotel, and certainly worn around the edges, but its in a pretty good location, way cheaper than other hotels downtown. The place was clean and beds OK. The breakfast was pretty basic, but did have biscuits & gravy as well as danish pastries etc. You can walk to Beale Street, but allow a good 10 to 15 minutes. Its all on the main drag and well lit, but you might want to concider a cab on the return leg, if its later at night. Its also an easy walk if you are going to a concert at Mud Island. There are plenty of good eating places close by. There is a nice irish pub just around the corner (The Brass Door) if you did not want to walk far. Parking is pretty safe, but there is a $10 fee. I would return for sure.

Room Tip: There is a nice irish pub around the corner called the Brass Door and a very good BBQ two blocks awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for the price and location to Beale St. The rooms were nice and clean but we didn't know what was more frightening, the elevator (very old) or the stairs. The building is old with parking on levels 1-6 and rooms on levels 8-10. I don't know if we would stay again due to anxiety of getting to our room. But it was a good value and location.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

My family of four stayed in this hotel because it was the only hotel within walking distance to AutoZone Park that had availability. I'm so glad we only had to stay one night. The hotel is VERY old and our room and hallway was gross. The hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt. A remodel wouldn't do any good. If you have to choose between sleeping in this hotel or sleeping in your car, sleep in your car. The breakfast was the best thing about this hotel, but it wasn't anything to write home about. Thanks to this hotel I will never sleep in a sub par hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finedon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This hotel has all your basic needs for a short stay, the room is spacious, with a tv, microwave coffee making facilities and a fridge.
The breakfast is reasonable.
The hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Beale st.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

A rather bleak hotel, good only for its low price, free breakfast & proximity to Beale Street, the Rock & Soul Museum & the National Civil Rights Museum. Although the reception staff were friendly, the staff cleaning the rooms were rather abrupt whenever I encountered them. My room was big &, importantly, clean, however the decor was old & a bit tired. The door didn't feel particularly secure & had quite a large gap underneath which meant light & noise from the corridor could come in (& there was quite a lot of noise from the heavy slamming doors!). I also had no towels in my room when I first arrived, two of the lamps in my room weren't working (which made getting ready rather difficult!) & one day I came back to find my room only half cleaned (some fresh towels, some screwed up to towels, the bed half-stripped of its cover?!). As other viewers have mentioned, the elevators up to the rooms are readily accessible from the street, which I found a bit odd & intimidating. Normally I view hotels only as a place to rest my head after a busy day of sightseeing & am happy to go for the cheapest option, however I found the Econo Lodge quite run-down & unpleasant overall, so would probably pay extra to stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This location while convenient to downtown is very dated. The rooms were clean enough but need updating. The one elevator does drop you off in the entrance to the parking garage as others have said. The whole place is laid out kind of odd. The building is located right beside the historic Sterick office building which is somewhat of a Memphis landmark. The only issue is that the Sterick Building has long ago been abandoned. That does nothing to help the overall feel of the building. This was originally a Holiday Inn when it was built back in the 60s but it's far from that now.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis

Address: 22 North Third Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.