We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap...Smelly...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6020 Shelby Oaks Drive, Memphis, TN 38134-7405 (Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #48 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Valley, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheap...Smelly...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed one night. Wish I had stayed elsewhere. Staff was friendly enough, and helpful, but the place smelled terrible. The bathroom was vile...you could smell other peoples bathroom activites in there--poop, smoke, whatever. Disgusting. Headache and nausea inducing. The bathroom appeared dirty also--mildew staining or worse on the tub caulking. There were dirty towels on the floor of the room when we checked in. At least the sheets were clean. Never again. Breakfast in the lobby looked ok, but I was afraid to try it. It was also extremely noisy--could hear every door shut, every footstep of others walking to their rooms. Very difficult to sleep here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else? Not sure there is a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    47
    22
    7
See reviews for
54
32
17
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is surrounded by other chain hotels - next time I would check one of those. Reception was very pleasant, room is spacious and quiet. Internet was not working, I was told it must be my fault because no one else had complained. I took the laptop downstairs and was able to connect - turns out the room is almost out of range. There were no towels in the room, when I called down I was told to come down and collect the towels myself. The rate was good (we use the tourist couple books) but there are a number of other hotels in the same range or cheaper that would be as good as if not better. Pool is nice but small, ditto exercise room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on July 7th and was looking forward to seeing a 2.5 star that had a 4.5 average review. Sadly, it didn't live up to my high expectations. Staff was very friendly and accomodative but as for the property, you get what you pay for. This is a $60 per night hotel and looks and feels like one.....so reduce your expections and expect what you pay for. The hotel is dated, not as clean as I might have liked, but acceptable and has a fair amount of deferred maintenance. I would not likely stay there again as it is a 1.5 star in 2.5 star clothing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was in Cordova, behind the mall. Very nice place. Stayed overnight with my 20-month old. Quick check in and out. Got it at more than half off through Priceline.com and came away very satisfied. Wish we had made time to use the pool - it looked nice, too. We were too busy making use of the very comfortable beds and pillows. :) A completely smoke-free place is nearly always a winner in my books! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Nothing special. desk clerk was super nice. Carpets were filthy, bedspreads torn, hair in the tub and bed. A/C worked great. Room was fairly quiet. Location and price was great, probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Lady at the front desk was AWESOME!!! Gave us a room update and was extremely beyond nice... Now the rooms were dirty and the microwave had mold in it!! breakfast was decent!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our first room had a broken TV and the front desk clerk offered to move us to a different room. The room she gave us reeked of smoke, so we asked to be moved yet again. I was in the original room while my husband shuttled back and forth moving our belongings when the desk clerk came up to check on the TV. Initially she evidenced an attitude that seemed to indicate she thought I just didn't know how to turn on a TV. Once she ascertained that the TV was indeed broken, her attitude changed and she became friendly and helpful. The third room was clean and fine for our needs with a working TV.

Sadly this hotel has paper thin walls. I was awakened around 1:00 am and again around 3:00 am by people coming and going in the halls.

Breakfast was adequate. No fresh fruit and no yogurt--toast, cereal & waffles. OK but nothing to write home about.

In all, I wouldn't stay at this location again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East

Address: 6020 Shelby Oaks Drive, Memphis, TN 38134-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Memphis East
Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East Hotel Memphis
Baymont Inn Memphis East
Memphis Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.