We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #45 of 135 hotels in Memphis
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at 15 different hotels during our visit to the US in Aug and Sep 2013.

This hotel was by far the worst in terms of poor customer service, "could not care" attitude, lack of response to requests, incorrect billing and just sheer disrespect.

Even when we said that their poor service may be a catalist for us leaving a poor review on tripadvisor, the attitudes remained the unchanged.

The room rate was approximately $140 per night, compared to others in the area charging closer to $200. I am unsure if we had $60 less customer service for our deal.

We have enjoyed so many pleasant stays at Holiday Inns around the globe that this was a bit of a surprise.

Never again. Avoid.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you felt our staff did not provide you with the customer service you deserve. Did you share this information with a manager while you were here ? If so, they could have taken care of your concerns immediately. Any additional details you can provide regarding your experience would be helpful so we can address your concerns with our staff. Also, has the billing issue you mentioned been corrected? If not, please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist you. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    203
    123
    51
    22
See reviews for
91
183
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here due to the close proximity to Beale Street, but it was awful. The room was shabby and in need of renovation. The ground floor was being renoted, with warings to guests, however the alarm kept going off on the night we stayed. With a log road trip ahead of us the next day, this was not good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding your experience. We understand the inconvenience and apologize that the alarm was set off and this interupted your sleep. Please come back again and experience the improvements to our hotel. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived here for 3 nights. The hotel is very convenient for walking to Beale St and Main St and just across the road from the Peabody Hotel. There are also a few bars and restaurants on its doorstep.

We were allocated an executive king suite (which sounds better than it looked). It was a spacious enough room but the decor was a bit tired and dated. There was thick dust on the curtains but otherwise it was clean. The bed was comfortable.

The air con was noisy and blowy and cold but better than the sticky humidity of Memphis.

Every member of staff we encountered seemed genuinely friendly and helpful.

The main problem we had was with our neighbours in the next room who decided that the no smoking rules did not apply to them so we had to endure their smoke (not just cigarette) coming through the air con into our room. It was disgusting. However hotel staff had a word with them and it stopped after that. The neighbours were also noisy so I'm not sure if that means the walls are thin or that these people just spoke and laughed particularly loudly.

Room Tip: A redocrated room, away from elevators and vending machines. The king executive room we had seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience. We appreciate you staying with us and apologize for the other guests in our hotel that inconvenienced your stay by smoking in our non-smoking hotel and by being noisy. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we could resolve the issue for you promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This location is perfect because it is only 2-3 blocks from Beale Street but yet far enough away that noise is not a bother. The beds are quite comfortable with lots of pillows. The bathrooms are very small and often I have found dirty towels and hair in the shower or sink. Right across the street from the famous "Peabody" hotel where the famous ducks hang out in the fountain during the day. There is a lot of food options around the hotel and during baseball season the triple a team redbirds is across the street. Always friendly staff that had lots of advice of things to do on a given night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our location close to Beale Street and many restaurants. Our staff is always ready to assist our visitors with recommendations on dining and entertainments. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for staying with us when visiting Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, a 3 minute walk down to Beale Street with the blues bars and nightlife, 2 minute walk to the baseball stadium, and 20 mins to Sun Studios. The young girl on reception when we arrived was not friendly at all, which was disappointing because we'd come from 2 other hotels where the reception staff were excellent. This was redeemed a bit though as the 2 (More mature) staff members on reception when we checked out were both extremely friendly and helpful and explained everything to us that I asked (car parking etc). the girl on our check-in was maybe having a bad day...There is a great sports bar/restaurant joined onto the hotel with a really friendly lady working there, very handy for dinner. The hotel was a bit dated looking, old wooden, creaking lifts with no mirrors, dark claustrophobic bathrooms etc but they were just beginning refurbishments when we were leaving and were due to improve it. I would stay here again if I was back in Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I apologize if you were not greeted with southern hospitality upon arrival. Please know that our parking is managed by a third party company so any additional details regardings on this experience would be helpful to pass along to them. We hope you come back again and see all the improvements our the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited Memphis in August and stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The staff was nice, one of the ladies sat and chatted with us for awhile to give some tips on things to see off the beaten track. Really enjoyed our stay and the convenience of being able to walk to Beale Street. Our room was nice and clean, didn't have any problems with the elevators as others have noted. Would for sure stay here again. Oh, and it's right across the street from The Peabody, so you can go see the ducks everyday too ; )

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting Memphis and staying with us. We appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your experience with our staff who are always happy to provided information on things to do in our city. Please come and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We got the "Viva Las Elvis" package that included a beautiful room, platimun tickets for Graceland, free breakfast, free lunch at Graceland & so many other free things cheaper than one night at the Peabody. We walked across the street to see the ducks and the to Beil St. for the evening. Everything perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience regarding our hotel, staff and Memphis attractions ! It sounds like you enjoyed our hotel and the "Viva Las Elvis" package! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.