We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel right in the heart of Memphis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #43 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel right in the heart of Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel. Reception staff was very helpful sorting out a problem we had with our reservation (our fault, not theirs). The room was nice and clean, but looking a bit old fashion (specially if compared to other Holiday Inn hotels). Bar staff was friendly and attentive. Only problem with this hotel is that they are renewing the lifts, so sometimes we had to wait a bit too long for a lift, specially if you want to go to the garage (then you need to change lifts half way through).
The hotel is close to Beale Street (4 or 5 blocks) and at walking distance from Mud Island (about 15 minute walk). Would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the heart of Memphis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at our Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis!
I'm happy you had a lovely time at our hotel and that our staff was able to assist you when you checked in. Thank you again for your comments and for your recommendation. We appreciate e your business and look forward to your next visit. Please come back soon and see our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    275
    164
    65
    29
See reviews for
110
258
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location, stayed two nights 24-05-13 and 25-05-13 Beale Street five minutes away nice bar "Hueys" on opposite corner all the must see attractions easily accessible. Hotel staff were attentive and courteous especially the gentleman on reception regarding an enquiry regarding a telephone call. Our room was spacious with a great view of Union Avenue facing the Peabody fun and games on Saturday 25 after Redbirds and Grizzlies games. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Memphis my personal highlight a visit to the National Civil Rights Museum directions courtesy of the reception staff. I highly recommend this hotel for its location, good quality rooms and exceptional service from the staff. Many thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: A room overlooking Union Avenue would be an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I'm so happy you enjoyed the hotel, staff, location and Memphis! I will be sure to pass along your comments to our entire staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

An excellent good value 3 star plus hotel which is currently undergoing refurbishment. We really enjoyed our stay here. the staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. We arrived mid morning and were delighted to have immediate access to our room. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom tiling rather tired but I think these will be updated. A good bar/restaurant on site, and a nice pool which was always quiet during our stay.The location was excellent and we used the complimentary shuttle from Sun Studio to Graceland and back to Downtown Memphis. Also not far to Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel.
The night/early morning security man was especially friendly and helpful when we needed an early taxi to the station.
So, thank you to all at the hotel for a great stay. We visited Chicago and New Orleans as well staying in 4 star hotels. Our favourite was this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay with us while in Memphis. We appreciate your comments! It sounds like you got a chance to see many of our wonderful area attractions while visiting. It's always nice when we are able to accommodate an early check-in request. Thank you for your feedback on our hotel and staff. I will be sure to share your review with them all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julatten, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Waited at reception for about 15mins to see if they had a room, when it was finally my turn a group of airline staff turned up and half way through serving me the receptionist served them. The hotel is under repair and so looking a little untidy. Upon arriving in the room there are earplugs in the bathroom, never a good sign. The noise from the road outside alone would be a reason I would not stay here again. The bar staff were as slow as reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for your wait when checking into the hotel. I have passed along your comments to our front office manager as well as our food and beverage director. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We wanted a really central location in downtown Memphis and we didn't want to pay the earth. The Holiday Inn was perfect! 3 blocks from Beale Street and right across the road from The Peabody Hotel.

We did walks to the river and mainstreet and catching the street car was really easy and close by too.

I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in Memphis. I'm happy you found our hotel to be a great central location to all the area attractions. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and hope you will stay with us again in the future when visiting Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We just had to move rooms because in the first room, my husband found a cockroach so big he said if we had to stay, we might as well name it. Ewww! It's 10 pm, so we will stay the night, but never again. Also, the rooms are minuscule. It took serious maneuvering to get the luggage cart, plus our family in the room. Also, this is my first experience with a 1 person bathroom. Wow!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It appears from your comments that after you expressed your issue and concern to our manager, our staff moved you to another room. I apologize for the inconvenience and that you felt our bathrooms were not large enough for your family. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location, just a short walk to the Beale street bars and restaurants and shops and the Gibson guitar factory is nearby. Very friendly staff.
For those wishing to see Graceland a courtesy bus is on hand.
We also hired a car and made the 1 hour drive down to Clarksdale to visit Crossroads, the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for "not near an ice machine", they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while enjoying Memphis! It's nice to hear that you found our location to be convenient to Beale Street entertainment and area attractions, such as the Gibson guitar. I'm happy that our staff provided you with southern hospitality. Please come visit again! Your business is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.