We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Grass

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sweet Grass
937 South Cooper Street, Memphis, TN
901-278-0278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Young
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I joined another couple at Sweet Grass recently before the symphony. We all agreed that our meal was exceptional. The highlight of the evening for me was the low country shrimp and grits. I have had shrimp and grits at a number of good restaurants, but I must say that this version of it was the very best that I have ever eaten. The addition of some scallops, ham and sausage gave the dish an exceptional flavor. Very well done indeed!!! By the way, my wife and our friends were also very happy with their entrees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good, but slipping?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at Sweetgrass many times. Always great, but last Saturday was disappointing. My friend had to send her steak back since it was almost all fat and gristle. My pork chop was great, but some of the roasted potatoes were not completely cooked (were a bit hard on the inside). My wife's dessert was so frozen on the bottom that we almost needed a knife to cut it. Very disappointing since I have often recommended this restaurant. Food quality may be slipping with the restaurant's overall popularity. Unfortunately this happens to some good restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow! Great service and food! Memphis is sooo lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm thoroughly impressed with the food and service. Went with a group and shared the charcuterie (house made and as good as Publican in Chicago), the clams/mussels and the carpaccio (better than The Palm in Nashville). I had the shrimp and grits, which sounds tired until you get to the scallops and house made sausage in it, then it becomes a different dish. Butternut squash soup was sublime. I envied another diner's HUGE locally raised strip steak. Dessert were colossal - the apple pie with bourbon ice cream was worth making some room for. Service was spot on. Memphis is lucky to have a restaurant this fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We live in NYC and eat at fine restaurants often. Not being a huge barbecue fan, I tried to find some other Memphis restaurants with Southern influence but no barbecue. Sweeet Grass fit the bill and stood up to some of the best restaurants we've eaten at at home. The shrimp and grits (which also includes scallops) was divine. The atmosphere is not stuffy and the crowd seemed to be enjoying themselves. The wine list is good and very reasonably priced. Beware, the desserts are huge and should be shared.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great local flavors with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's easy to fill up on cornbread before the meal even comes out because it's so tasty! The main dishes are good for the Memphis area...although I find that most of the restaurants in town use more oil than what I'm used to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Grass also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Grass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Grass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.