We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Genghis Grill

Genghis Grill
2362 N. Germantown Pkwy, Memphis, TN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 1,198 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: Mongolian
Description: Listed as the Cordova/Memphis site
Restaurant details
Description: Listed as the Cordova/Memphis site
Slinger, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First time at a Genghis Grill, but will certainly go again. You pick your meat, veggies, seasonings and sauce and it is grilled for you and brought to your table. Very tasty!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love these Mongolian type grills!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

These grills are always a hit with my family and this one was good! My only complaint is that you only get one-trip for the price (and it's not cheap). We have a different chain of Mongolian-style grill near our home town and we get unlimited trips so we were surprised to learn that this is a one-trip place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food, but pricey for just one bowl.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The waiter comes to the table with your choice of either a small bowl or a large bowl. you then go to the bar and fill it with however much you can fit into the said bowl. One bowl is honestly not big enough- no matter your eating style. There were many different varieties of meats, from pepperoni to chicken to crab meant & calamari. Then you move over to the veggie section, this section is a bit jumbled and not easy to reach everything. Fresh broccoli, cabbage, squash, mushrooms, etc. There are also spices you can add. Then you move over to the sauces, choose whichever sauce you'd like, from honey ginger, to bbq to the dragon. Many different varieties. Get to the end and you hand the cook your bowl and if you would like to add egg(s) let the cook know that and they will add for you. You also get to chose as you had the cook your bowl between fried rice, brown rice, or different varieties of noodles. The cook will hand you a # that you place on your table so the waiter will know table to deliver the food to. They also have a full bar. Again, the food is whatever foods you like, so there's no way to go wrong, the only problem is the portion! A bit pricey for only 1 bowl.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurant in Memphis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Genghis Grill is one of my favorite restaurants in Memphis. Just go for their regular size meal and do take their meat serving with noodles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Watching the cooks provides entertainment before you eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We loved this place! It was our first time at this type of restaurant, and the waitress walked us through all the steps. I mixed up calamari and turkey, then added things like broccoli and onions. You can pick your own spices and sauces, and then viola! The cooks prepare your meal right before your eyes.

The service wasn't so good; we finally had to go inside to get our own beers as we were halfway through our meal (spicy!) and the drinks hadn't arrived.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genghis Grill also viewed

 

Been to Genghis Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genghis Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.