We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe Downtown

Blue Plate Cafe Downtown
113 S Court Ave, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
(901) 523-2050
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,272 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had read a blog about Memphis and this plate was recommended highly for breakfast. My husband's favorite meal is breakfast so I wanted to be sure we had a good breakfast spot. Nothing really fancy about the food but just good down home southern breakfast and hospitality. We're southerners so we really liked it. We were in Memphis 3 days and ate breakfast here 2 days. They give you a lot of food so after the first day we figured out that we should share and it was still more than adequate. Good food, reasonable prices and good customer service from the time you enter until you leave.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ooky57
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great quiet charm and good southern breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Walked there on a quiet square parkside and delighted to have delicious biscuits, eggs, ham, the works. Cool local art adorns the walls.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed a late lunch snack of tamales and cheese fries and they were yummy! The place is a fun place to hang out and wait for tours and to enjoy the live music they provide.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot if staying downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Biscuits/waffles were especially good and portions were generous. Something to satisfy everyone in the family. Great atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ohhhh my God Good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I had to wait till we left Memphis to rate this place cause we kept going back for breakfast!! The first time we had omlets which comes with pancakes anx biscuits. . . Oh so good!!! I recommend the strawberries and cream. . . Yummy!!! The omlets were huge but good and fluffy. The second time we went we had biscuits and gravy and french toast. Both were soooo good. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Memphis.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.