We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backbeat Tours

Backbeat Tours
140 Beale Street, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
901-272-2328
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$15*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Backbeat Tours offers a variety of different ways to see and experience the best of Memphis, including sightseeing bus tours and walking tours such as the popular Memphis Ghost Tour in the evenings and the Memphis History Tour in the daytime.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Took a tour with our guide, Shekinah (not sure about that spelling!). Very nice tour. Loved the info, singing was good. My husband's favorite part of our Memphis trip. Didn't really need to book in advance -- the bus was only half full. Worked out okay though because it stopped raining before the tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    38
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun musical tour of Memphis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a unique and musical way to see many of the Memphis highlights! Our tour guide and singer-guitar player Dylan was not only a good singer but (bonus) a history major too. The two hour tour aboard a vintage 1959 bus named "Carolyn" was interesting, fact-filled and entertaining. It's a wonderful way to explore the birthplace of Rock and Roll! We took the Big Mojo tour that included a tour of Sun Studio. Nice way to spend an afternoon. Note: The tour does not make any stops during the tour, so taking a bottle of water and some snacks is a good idea.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Backbeat is Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

For the most fun in a short time take the bus tour...interactive and informative...retro bus makes it even better!......worth every penny..enjoy it and try to sing along with the guitar playing host!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awsome..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My niece and i were there on vaction from july 12-15.. on our first night we took the 2 hour tour... when we finnally got to hazel's & ernastine's.. wow ... that was really cool . I captured a orbe on my phone. I'd highly recomend this tour. I did ..im.planning a returning stay.. but this time be myself and a couple of friends...loved everything about memphis... i would recommend a little get away do it in memphis...btw can anyone tell me who and where i can send my photos. As like she explained if you catch anything to asurre to send them..thanks again...
Sincerly stacy daily..fouke ar.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Workin' the Mojo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got our "mojo workin" with Kathryn Brawley on a spectacular tour through downtown Memphis! It was great fun to sing and play along while listening to her incredible stories! The bus was very comfortable and cool which made for a wonderful time of relaxing, learning, and participation!! So much fun!! Thanks, Kathryn! You were fabulous!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backbeat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Backbeat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backbeat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.