We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the price...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Marriott Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night during a road trip. Everything about it was just right - the location was great, a short walk to Beale Street but in a quiet area; the room was clean and comfortable; the staff was friendly and helpful, and; it's always a bonus for me when there's a lobby Starbucks.
The only minor complaint is the parking. Although there's an outdoor lot at the hotel, most of the spots are reserved for the hotel next-door and Marriott's garage is a block away. The garage itself is kind of a scary place - very dimly lit. I wouldn't want to be there by myself at night.
Still, I'll go back to this hotel if I'm ever in Memphis again.

Room Tip: In reading other Trip Advisor reviews, it was suggested we ask for a room in the back, away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. Glad to hear you had a great visit to Memphis. Hope to see you again next year for Elvis Week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    90
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
73
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fabulous time and the hotel staff was accommodating! Carry your own breakfast! Would stay here again!!! Had a great time at Graceland for Elvis Week 2013 don't know we
will do another Elvis Week but will be back to Graceland!

Room Tip: Take your own breakfast! Expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your stay. Hope to see you again next year for Elvis Week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for a work related trip. This was the fourth stay for 4 full days. Although the staff is very friendly is does not make up for dirty floors that made you have to wash your feet before going to bed. Other areas show the need for cleaning the floors. Again valet personnel were very friendly, but NEVER answered the phone and we had to request the car at the desk. That was the other weird thing- they did not answer the phone when we called either... the most disappointing aspect was the charge for the room was $179 because they said we did not have a reservation. (the company I was there with made the reservation) No record of it, we arrived at 10:30pm and were too tired to go to another hotel that we feel would have been worth the cost. After all the issues we tried to contact the hotel for assistance (we had to leave at 5:30am and of course anyone that could help was not there) and no one again answered the phone. Called corporate and waited on the phone 17 minutes for a human, who once they had our complaint never called back. All in all- you can do better in Memphis- we won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. The comment you have made regarding dirty flooring is being addressed. All carpeting is currently being cleaned and the project should be complete within the next week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Back again on business and found it disappointing. Front desk was slow and did not have good info about travel to the airport. Wireless in my room did not work at all and a friend at the same meeting who stays there regularly said that is a widespread problem. There was no stopper in the bathroom sink. It was certainly clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant. In this day and age, I want reliable wireless.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your staying with us. We are currently working on the issue with our wireless internet system. A complete upgrade is planned and will correct any issues that we are having. We appreciate your patience while we make these upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

From all of the other reviews on hotels I've seen for the Downtown Memphis area, this hotel was pretty good.

The staff was very friendly and responsive. Upon arrival in our rooms we noticed we had been short-changed in the pillow department (only 2 very small pillows). We rang the front desk and they had 2 more full size pillows up in short order. They never failed to greet us when we came through the lobby. In this department, the hotel was top notch.

The location is EXCELLENT! It's a couple of blocks away from a lot of the main attractions of the Downtown area which is close enough for convenience but far enough away for a peaceful night's rest. The only complaint I have regards to noise was a few rowdy guests came in late one night, but that's to be expected when you stay in this part of town, especially during Elvis Week.

The ONE complaint we had that is to be of any poor reflection on the hotel is the carpets were pretty nasty. There were a few large areas of what looked like water rings from some kind of water damage and what looked like a couple of areas where some previous guests who had too much to drink couldn't quite make it to the bathroom before vomitting. I have seen several reviews of other hotels in the area with similar problems, so this appears to be common in Downtown Memphis.

This is the only reason I rated this a 4 instead of a 5. I debated on a 3, but honestly, the hotel can't replace the carpets every time a guest throws up and stains it. They did attempt to clean it, but there's only so much you can do after a drunken guest lets it sit all night. It was very well maintained except for that one aspect. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. And thank you for your feedback. Please be assured that we have an ongoing carpet cleaning program. The program is based on scheduled cleanings by an outside vendor as well as in house program for needed cleanings in between scheduled cleanings. We are currently scheduled for a complete cleaning of our carpets the last week of August and the second week of September. Also, we have an ongoing program to change carpet areas that have stains that cleaning will not remove.

Hope to see you on your next visit to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night. It was a great location. We were a few blocks from Beale street, a nice walk. Very close to the river. It looks to be close to a lot of tourist activities although we were only there for the night. Service was good. Room was spacious and clean. They have valet or self parking , both cost. We were not charged because we used our Marriott points. The Hotel is located in Court Square which has a small grass park like area which was very attractive. There is a Bistro on location but we did not utilize it.
Nice place, we would stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here during our trip to Memphis. It was a lovely hotel, perfect location for walking to Beale street or riding the trolley! Close enough to downtown but far enough away for a quiet sleep. The room was very spacious with a comfy king size bed!! Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the downtown and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We appreciate you stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Downtown

Address: 75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#14 Family Hotel in Memphis
#27 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Marriott Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.