We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but uneven service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Marriott Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nice but uneven service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown for 5 days while attending a conference. The hotel is convenient to the downtown area and attached to the convention center. Overall the hotel is quite clean and comfortable. We found the staff to be very friendly and courteous but the service that we received was quite uneven. On one occasion the room was cleaned but no towels or toiletries were left. A comment at the front desk resulted in dozens of bottles of shampoo, lotion and conditioner being placed in the bathroom but no towels. It is a good hike from the hotel to restaurants, especially for breakfast since nothing seems to open outside the hotel before 9:00 AM. The hotel restaurant is a disaster with very mediocre, over priced food and slow and inattentive service. The coffee available in the hotel is quite bad and we found no good coffee in the downtown area. The nearest Starbucks is off Beale street about a mile from the hotel and two local coffee shops four or so blocks from the hotel were never open. One final problem was the constant hum of noise from I-40 which did not stop day or night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from I-40 as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    100
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
78
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice clean new property in the heart of downtown Memphis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyarddt, Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Hope to see you in Memphis again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Although it is a couple of blocks further from the center of activity than some hotels, the accomodations were excellent. It is across the street from a Subway, convenence store, and package store. There is also a nice park nearby. And, the trolley runs right in front of the hotel. The only hitch in our stay was the wi-fi access. We never got it to work on our laptop or smartphones. We used the computer in the lobby to search for things we were looking for. But, we didn't miss the internet at all because Memphis is so much fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown Memphis for 3 nights in April 2012. Our room was at the end of the hall on the 7th floor. At the time I made the reservation we requested a room on an upper floor and also requested extra pillows for our bed -- both requests were accommodated. The hotel is very convenient to the trolley line and within easy walking distance to Beale Street and restaurants. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. There really wasn't a view, but we didn't go to Memphis to stay in our room and look out the window. Valet parking was easy and very quick. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes to receive our vehicle. We recommend valet parking because the parking in downtown Memphis is challenging at best. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Memphis and would stay there again on our next trip. We had no issues with the housekeeping services. Our room was clean and always ready when we needed it. The bathroom was a very generous size with a stand-up shower that was enormous. We did not feel cramped in the bathroom at all. Unfortunately, each morning there was not enough "regular" coffee. I saw the staff remove the coffee urn and they said they were bringing fresh coffee right away, but none ever appeared so we had to purchase coffee each morning. We stopped at the Bistro each afternoon just to purchase 2 bottles of beer to take to our room. Those are the only times we used the Bistro so I can't comment on other aspects of that service. We typically expect hotel bars to be slightly more expensive, but we did not feel the prices were out of line. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful as were the valets. Overall, we recommend the Courtyard Marriott Downtown to travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here with several family members for a weekend wedding. The location is awesome, right on Courthouse Square with an easy walk to the river and to Beale St. The room was large and comfortable, the closet held both of our stuff, and the bathroom was fine, the shower powerful.

Our only issues were with service. The front desk did fine, but they did not keep the self-service store very well stocked, and the service at the Bistro was abysmal. They had one cook and one counter person on duty no matter how busy it got, and the counter person was often overwhelmed. This meant for long waits. Once we even gave up and went somewhere else for breakfast. The prices at the Bistro were also astronomical.

The maid staff did not show up on our first day until nearly 5PM. (We had been gone touring in the city for most of the day, so there had been ample time to do our room.) At that point we were getting ready for the wedding, so we had to refuse maid service and sign off that we had done so.

The furnishings and rug were showing their age. There was a light stain in the middle of the floor between the TV and the bed.

All in all, an okay experience, but for $159 a night I would expect more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyarddt, Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thanks for your comment. We have addressed the issue you have brought to our attention and corrective aciton taken to insure the service issues you mentioned are improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Courtyard is a great place to stay. It's right on the Main Street Trolley Line. You can ride the Trolley or walk down Main to restaurants, clubs, and events at the Orpheum and FedEx center.

The hotel is still fairly new and has clean, modern rooms. They also serve meals downstairs. Their breakfast is very good. Good service and you can self park or use the valet parking.

I recommend it for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, especially those at the ends of the halls (very low numbers or very high number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyarddt, Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We are happy you enjoy the hotel and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

I came here with my family to explore Memphis for a week and see what the city had to offer. Upon arriving to my room, the room hadn't been clean (if it had, someone must've came back in and went to sleep) and there was a dirty sock on the floor and hair all in the bathroom. The cleaning crew cleaned it up quickly, but the hair problem was never solved. Other than the initial issues, the room was clean and sufficient. The bed on the other had was hard as a board and felt nothing like the usual Marriott beds. I stayed in a room with a view of the bridge and the river which was nice. There was not any noise issues even with the trolley running all day.

The staff at this location is just average. They don't do anything terribly bad, but they don't do anything exceptional either. It seems like they are afraid to speak and will duck away before trying to make eye contact.

The location of this hotel is great. They have a restaurant across the street called Allanahs and a market right beside there. There is a restaurant called Local and the food there is great.

Overall, this hotel is just okay. It's a place to stay in a great location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyarddt, Manager at Courtyard Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests and to use their comments to help us to better serve them. We have a very friendly staff and will work even harder to insure our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Downtown

Address: 75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#21 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Marriott Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.