We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you'd expect for an $85 motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis to your Saves list
Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   265 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save 20%!
Ranked #62 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
St. Louis MO
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exactly what you'd expect for an $85 motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff here were incredibly nice, however this room was exactly what you'd expect for such a low price: clean but old fashioned. We were very close to Beale St, which is why we picked this motel. It was very easy to spend all night on Beale then walk home. It didn't seem like the safest area, but there were police cars all over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    94
    80
    29
    33
See reviews for
26
104
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not the place to stay if you want luxury but a good value option if you're on a budget. A short walk from Beale Street and other attractions. I even walked to the train station in about 30 minutes. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Free breakfast is basic. Pool looked ok. Staff were helpful, giving me a choice of ground or first floor room and gave me a local map.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We got a nice welcome. The room was not very big, but well equipped with fridge, hairdryer etc.
It was clean, except for the bathroom door. Both aircon and internet functioned well.
The breakfast: Cereals and Danish pastry. Below usual standard, but OK for a change. No place place to sit, except for one bench outside and a small gazebo across the parking lot.
The location of Vista Inn is excellent. Free parking. 5 minutes walk to Beale Street or to the Peabody for watching the duck march. But especially at night you may also encounter the gloomier sides of American society in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Jessica made our stay delightful. Her smile and charm was infectious. Very helpful And knowledgable. Location was perfect. We walked to Beale street. Will stay here again. Thanks Jessica !!! What could take 200 characters to write a review? Ughhhhbhbbbhbbbh.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights but after checking in and seeing the room and the neighborhood we decided to go. The room was not clean and smells filty, the toilet was broke, tv didn't work. Sheets were dirty and the extra lock on the door was broke. We didn't feel safe.

My husband told the employe at the reception the reason of our checkout. She was surprised and make no effort to do something about the things he noticed. It maybe a cheap hotel but our advice is pay a little bit more and feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We apologize greatly that you did not have a good stay with us. We don't want you to feel like you were being neglected at all. Of course as soon as we had any notice that there were any problems we jump right at fixing them, whether it be changing sheets or changing t.v.'s to even changing rooms. We do want our guests to feel right at home. We are truely sorry if things weren't as you would have wished and we do hope that you will give us another try and let us show you the service that you would greatly appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in September 2013. It was easy to find, close to everything you need. Fridge in the room came in handy for drinks. Its not the best hotel we've stayed in but it was clean enough and felt safe. The pool was a nice addition in the Memphis heat, even at night, you could sit in the pool area. We've paid a lot more in chain hotels and had much worse service. Breakfast was OK, get there early as it seems to run out and is not refreshed. Pastries, cereal, juice and coffee - enough to get you started for the day - a seating area outside to eat at. Would recommend on location alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We realy enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again!! Have safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Salem, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

.....but that's about the best thing about this place. It was sketchy looking from the outside, and the inside confirmed those vibes. Sheets were stained, walls, bathroom, and floor were dirty with one area on the wall looking like dried blood. It was so nasty we left a day early. Don't stay here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaInnManagement, Manager at Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so apologetic that you did not have a good visit with us. If we had known that there were any problems with your room or that you felt uncomfortable at all, we would have immediately found a solution to any issues. We would have moved you to a room that would have made you feel comfortable. We do assure you that we are located in a safe area. There is a police substation to the side of our property. To go anywhere outside our back gate you would have to pass it. Also just located a block and a half west of us are The Peabody Hotel and The Doubletree Hotel. It is a very secure area. Again, we are very apologetic about any negative experiences that were had here with us. There is always someone here on property to assist you at all times. We do hope that you give us another try and stay with us again. We guarantee a much better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis

Address: 265 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Court Motel is a newly renovated motel located just right around the corner from Beale Street and just right in front of the Red Bird's Stadium (Baseball). Also the Fed Ex Forum is just located around the corner from us. Elvis Presley's House is only 15 min away driving distance and Sun Studious is only 5 min away walking distance which they give a free shuttle ride to Elvis Presley’s house to Graceland. We also pick up our guests from the Memphis Airport, with one-week advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Inn Motel Downtown Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.