We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality goes a long ways” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5069 Sanderlin Avenue, Memphis, TN 38117   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save 20%
Ranked #56 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Harrison, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality goes a long ways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I travel over 100 days a year for business so I spend a lot of time in hotels. One of the cities I frequent is Memphis and have had the oppurtunity to stay at several of the Hilton chain hotels in the area. As some have noted, this hotel is a little dated and it would not hurt to give the rooms an upgade but what brings me back to this hotel is the Hospitality of the staff. The most notable is the Hilton Honors lounge in the evenings. Samantha is the consierge in the lounge and she a key reason a lot of us regulars stay at the hotel. When you travel as much as some of us do, it is nice to have a place that you can just relax and feel at home. The lounge itself is nothing special, it is her hospitality and attention to the guests that make the difference. She greets everyone that comes in with a smile, asks about their day, offers to help them with whatever they need even if it is not directly related to the lounge. If you are a regular then she learns your name, what you like to drink, asks how your family is doing, etc... It is clear that she loves what she does and cares about the guest, trust me this is not always easy to find when traveling. People like her can help a guest look past a lot, without the hospitality even a new 5 star property will get complaints because in the end its all about people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    117
    96
    77
    49
See reviews for
78
73
39
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel does it right. Just wish other chains could be as perfect. Staff was extremely friendly and outgoing. Every staff member was smiling. Room was perfect. Bed very comfortable. Very clean. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff was very friendly, and we loved the location, but the physical property was quite dated and in need of updates. The bathroom in particular felt "dirty." We were on the 6th floor, but there was quite a bit of street noise, which kept me awake both nights until 2 to 3 in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

one on one very poor...always interrupted or too busy to listen or chat....often asked me to hold on so the phoe could be answered. poor manners and when checking in no WELCOME SILVERS HONORS MEMBER, just like I as off the street I was appalled at the cleaning service....i put a spilt drink on the bed sheet (since my last experience was horrific) and wanted to see if they would notice and change the sheets...when I returned to the room..same sheets! Finally the request for H20 as a Silver member..response was non courteous and that they only offer water to Gold & Diamond...Is this true?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us as a valued HHonors member, and we apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration you faced. We are dedicated to ensuring every guests' satisfaction, and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed your expectations moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future. If we may be of any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly

Thank you,

Kurt Harrop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel is in a Good Location. Near restaurants, Shopping Movie Theater. Staff is Pleasant. Rooms were clean but are in need of Remodeling. Lighting, Carpet and Plumbing fixtures all need to be replaced. Heater/Air Conditioner was Loud and it rattled.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel location is convenient to shopping and dining. The amenities in the hotel leave much to be desired. With the rate one would expect at least a continental breakfast instead of a morning paper every other day. The beds were covered with duvets, no comforters during the winter made staying warm in the room difficult and sleeping in a squeaky bed with ink stained sheets was less than acceptable. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but the amenities were less than I expected from a Hilton brand hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Unfortunately, I have to give this hotel a low review.
I spend half of my life in hotels all over the world and this one is far below the standards to call itself a Double Tree by Hilton hotel. The hotel was probably nice many years ago, but is extremely dated. The wallpaper is separating at the seams, the carpet in my room is disgusting, and the the air/ heating units are noisy and inefficient. I have had numerous problems with the WiFi going in and out for days, to the point that I can not possibly do work at this hotel. Although the staff is generally very nice, I found them to be quite rude with their response to my internet connectivity complaints. One front desk clerk told me, that maybe I "should go find a Starbucks" as the engineer won't be in until 800 in the morning. So, if the internet goes out during the engineers off hours, tough luck.
Positives.
1. Small but good fitness room with free weights and modern treadmills.
2. Indoor/ outdoor heated pool with connector channel
3. Generally nice staff
4. It appears that here were efforts to decorate the lobby, etc for Christmas, but the execution is half hearted at best. (sums up the overall feeling of hotel, nice staff trying to do a good job, but failing in execution.)
Negatives
1. Completely useless internet (which if like me from a different country is your only option and working is key). Slow as heck when it does work, and will disconnect numerous times throughout the day.
2. Old, dated rooms, smelly, dirty old carpet and hallways. What appears to be 60 watt light bulbs in all the lamps to the point that it is too dark to work in the room. (think yellow light)
3. Breakfast buffet is horrible, dried out fake scrambled eggs and cheap english muffins, better to order from the menu.
4. Although the front desk makes an effort at customer service, the chamber maids, servers, etc, are socially averse or make no effort. (to the point that "good morning" is not reciprocated)
Other
1. Location is neither a positive or negative for business travelers, it is not located downtown, but there are restaurants and shops close driving distance away.

I can't imagine this to be used as a holiday hotel, but rather one that people stay at while working in the area, so their lack of understanding on the importance of reliable internet is confusing to say the least. If this hotel were to receive a renovation, it could again be a decent hotel, but until then I will persuade my company to move away from this hotel. It does nothing but diminish the DoubleTree and Hilton brand names.

Room Tip: Some rooms have extremely loud air conditions/ heating units. Otherwise the are is relatively quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing amenities and appointment of your visit. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and amenities. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis

Address: 5069 Sanderlin Avenue, Memphis, TN 38117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Memphis is in the heart of the East Memphis business district and Clark Tower complex, next to The Racquet Club. Easy access to I-40 and I-240, just minutes from Memphis International Airport, offering free airport transportation. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Graceland, Beale Street, National Civil Rights Museum, University of Memphis, Oak Court Mall and the Memphis Zoo with its rare giant pandas are all within minutes of this suburban Memphis hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Doubletree
Doubletree Memphis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.