We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mud Island River Park

Mud Island River Park
125 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103 (Downtown)
800.507.6507
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island containing a 52-acre park that is home to the River Walk and the Mississippi River Museum accessible only by a footbridge.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a large scale model of the Mississippi River. Completely different than anything you have seen before.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    148
    63
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We paid $10 for the Mississippi River Museum Admission and roundtrip monorail ride. It was a fascinating museum about the history of the Mississippi River and the area surrounding it. Exhibits start with early inhabitants (B.C.) and goes all the way to modern day transportation. You can board and explore replicas of full size boats. You can view replicas of the Civil War military uniforms and equipment. Another area showcases showboat performer costumes. And it traces the origin of the Blues. You can walk outside and view barges going up the Mississippi, sit and relax in the Riverwalk area which is a model of the Lower Mississippi River – very well done. A nice way to spend a few hours in Memphis.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was great, loved the Pedal boats and the scale Mississippi replica.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

It was an overcast day, but we enjoyed walking along the Mississippi and our 3 year old loved the pedal boats. Would recommend, bet its even better on a hot day.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very nice.. i do not have a complaint ...good place to visit with family

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
“River Walk - Great Place To Be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

It has been several years since I was on River Walk, but my general impression was that it is a grate place to be. I just felt good. View of the city, view of the river, and the great design. My criticism, if any, would be that I was under the impression that the place was closed except for an occasional concert. Maybe marketing could be improved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mud Island River Park also viewed

 

Been to Mud Island River Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mud Island River Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.