We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodruff-Fontaine House

Woodruff-Fontaine House
680 Adams Avenue, Memphis, TN 38105 (Midtown)
901-526-1469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 172 things to do in Memphis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An elegant, 16-room mansion built in 1870 and featuring period furnishings and mannequins displaying the fashions of the era.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a great tour with Jake (I think). He was wonderful and went out of his way to not only explain the stuff in the house and the family, but show their archives of dresses to my 4 year old daughter. This stop was one of the highlights of our Memphis trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
318 attraction reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The home is beautiful and full of gorgeous antiques and interesting equipment. It is not completely finished being renovated. We were here on a cold, gray day, so it was a little depressing, but our guide told us the gardens are being put in in the back and they will give the place a facelift. Our guide was very frail but did a good job. She was passionate about what she was doing and made the tour more interesting.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice Memphis Victorian House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Whilst to us (being from the UK) this is not a particularly old house, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide was very informative and we thought the house had a really comfy atmosphere Don't think it would hold a great deal of interest for children but very good for adults.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, TN
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Wonderful home and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family loves old homes, not just the architecture, the antiques, and the fascinating glimpse into another time and way of life but the stories of the people and of the cities. We have been in everything from log cabins and colonials to Victorians and antebellum homes and never tire of a good tour and this one was.
We were fortunate enough to come on a slow day and got our own personal tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and friendly and more than willing to answer our questions and talk with us. I enjoyed hearing more about the Woodruff and Fontaine families, of the yellow fever epidemic that was such a problem for the city, and of the mourning rituals of the day. I thought I knew most all of them and still learned something new today. They also have an impressive collection of textiles and antique clothing, something of interest to my daughter and myself. They have done a wonderful job preserving this place and its many stories.
Anyone who believes a home tour is only about looking at the house itself does not have their ears open as they follow their guide. There is so much more to a home tour than gawking at architecture and antiques, though I admit I enjoy doing so, there are things to be learned about how people have changed and how they haven't. How their stories have shaped our stories and led us to where we are today.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This house has a very colorful history and was a great stop on our tour of Memphis! The tour was thorough, though I would have liked more time to look at the stuff!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodruff-Fontaine House also viewed

 

Been to Woodruff-Fontaine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodruff-Fontaine House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.