We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it -- excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Best Tours

Memphis Best Tours
7948 Winchester Road, Suite 109-212, Memphis, TN 38125
901-870-5760
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$24*
and up
Attraction details
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth it -- excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

do this first day in Memphis to get a lay of the land....

you learn so much and the tour guide is excellent

pick up was timely.....

had time to wander around Beale street and got to see the duck walk !!

included a drive by graceland, a visit to st. jude, and a fun guide who made everything great...

five stars

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    14
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went on a Memphis City Tour for nearly 4 hours at a cost of $30. per person, and we were even picked up and returned to our hotel some 40 minutes away. What a bargain! There are three stops: St.Jude Children's Research Hospital, Beale Street and the Peabody Hotel. Our tour guide Pinky was very informative and so sweet.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A quick view of Memphis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a few hours and wanted to see the sites of Memphis. Pinky, our driver, picked us up right at our RV Park. The bus was clean, cool and comfortable. We picked up a few other passengers at various locations. All the while, Pinky shared interesting facts about the city. When the tour started, she explained everything we passed. The tour included big sights, and little known facts. When we got to Beale street, we got a full hour to explore on our own. It was an excellent amount to cover in a very short time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Avoid the City Tour - Take a Cab !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked the City Tour thinking that we would be guided to all of the Music venues in the city - wrong. We watched 6 ducks walking up a carpet into a fountain, and spent a very uncomfortable 20 mins in the company of some very sick children and their parents in the garden of a hospital !! These were the only stops on the Memphsis Best Tours City Tour What's that all about ? The intrusion into quality time being spent with families like this was quite offensive to us. And as for the Ducks - What can one say ?

"Went to Memphsis and took a tour. Did you see where Dr King was shot ? No, but watched 6 ducks waddle up a carpet and drop into a fountain !!"

It was fine for a basic orientation, and the afternoon extension to Gracelands, but I would suggest that you save yourself the money, research the venues that you want to visit and drive yourselves (as we did on the second day) or take a cab.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This really is the best way to see it all!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My Dad and I booked this tour for our first day in Memphis and it was PERFECT!! We did the 'Combo Tour' which includes the drive around the city in the morning(with a couple nice stops), a stop for lunch(included in the fee) at a preplanned restaurant on Beale Street, then off to Graceland for the afternoon! The driver Sam was punctual and friendly picking us up at our hotel and we immediately joined others at the local info center where we all divided up into our respective tours-very organized and efficient. From there and for the day, our driver was Boyce(sp?), and he was really a neat guy, very funny and very friendly. He was a great storyteller and it was a wonderful tour of the city. Lunch was awesome and it was neat that it was all included, we felt taken care of all day. Then the place we were waiting for..Graceland! Boyce dropped us off with Michelle who guided us over to the lineup to hop on the one-minute shuttle bus up to the mansion. Shuttles were running every 3-4 minutes and we waited under ten minutes for one. We were told to enjoy the mansion and then the museums etc right there at Graceland Plaza, then meet up at the agreed time to be taken back to our hotels. We were given three hours and it was perfect, we wandered everywhere quite leisurely. I recommend this tour highly!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Best Tours also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Best Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis Best Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.