We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennessee Shakesphere theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixon Gallery & Gardens

Dixon Gallery & Gardens
4339 Park Ave, Memphis, TN 38117
901 761 5250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 172 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art museum specializing in impressionist and post-impressionist painting, featuring work by Matisse, Renoir, Gaugin, Cassat and Turner.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tennessee Shakesphere theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

the gallery and gardens are spectacular But the theater that produces shows there is amazing ! Dan McCleary and his troupe of seasoned actors produced an amazing Hamlet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Save your money until the impressionist paintings are back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Didn't realize until we had paid and started our visit that the impressionist paintings were all out of town on tour. I mentioned my disappointment at the cashier's desk and was told that I was not the first to voice this. Hmm..., really? Maybe they should try harder to let people know then. Apparently if you visit their website you will know this, but I'm from out of town and was relying on a guidebook. Maybe a sign when you enter the lobby and/or one by the cash noting that the modern art on exhibit is replacing the impressionist paintings (not an additional exhibit) would be helpful? Or maybe the gallery just wants your money??? They certainly can't be so naive to think that everyone who likes impressionist paintings likes modern art, can they?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice gallery and beautiful garden (even if just some flowers were blooming in March), but that's all. There are soooo many great attractions in Memphis, so I think it's not really a must-see if you have only a couple of days in the town - but if you have some extra time, I absolutely recommend it. Visit the gallery's homepage, they offer free admission sometimes!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
638 reviews 638 reviews
228 attraction reviews
Reviews in 228 cities Reviews in 228 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Missed the Impressionists, But Good Gardens and Local Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited the Dixon Gallery and Gardens in March when there were only a few flowers blooming and when the Impressionist and Post-Impressionist paintings had been replaced by an exhibit of Memphis artists from 2001. We were disappointed about missing the permanent collection, but impressed by the local art. The galleries were organized by year and had a wonderful variety of truly creative works. I was particularly impressed by a small 3D LED sculpture that showed a lot of potential for the medium. We look forward to going back when the flowers are in bloom and the permanent collection is back in place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and art gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wo, were we surprised by this small gallery and its setting. Although it was raining buckets of water, the grounds were still beautiful and led us to want to come back in the spring to walk teh gardens.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixon Gallery & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Dixon Gallery & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixon Gallery & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.