We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save over $120
Ranked #43 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Woodland, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

For my 40th birthday, my fiance took me here for a week. Been wanting to go to Graceland for years. The rooms are pretty basic, but being in Memphis I did not plan to stay in there a lot anyway. If you are an Elvis fan like me, it's heaven being across the street from Graceland. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful, and anything we needed was attended to immediately. It is nothing fancy, but a lot of fun.

  • Liked — The Elvis Theme
  • Disliked — The elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    284
    222
    147
    118
See reviews for
284
391
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We somehow managed to get our way into *the* busiest hotel (with it being Elvis week and all) and stayed for one night.

Check in was SLOW, the staff - average. The lobby is the only redeeming feature of this hotel (oh, and the complimentary internet)

The rooms are quite dim, bland decor with a couple of Elvis pics on the wall.

The 'Kitchen' was disgusting, old fashioned and to be honest just look unsanitary.

People seem to love it tho, seen as they've returned for 30 years.
In my opinion it needs a wrecking ball. Talk about trading off a name. He'd rock and roll in his grave if he knew.

  • Liked — The fact they had Krispy Kreme doughnuts on the breakfast buffet.
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We've stayed here twice !
Now, it's not the Ritz, but you only stay at this hotel for one reason - it could not be any closer to Graceland
So the hotel could do with a bit of a makeover - the public areas look fine but the rooms are a little bland, we booked a suite and it was ok but in need of a lick of paint
I would still stay here again though - its just so convenient

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

I LOVE this hotel!! We stayed here during Elvis week and it was awesome. The only bad thing I have to say is that we had to wait awhile for our room. Check in time was at 4 we were hoping to get the room before that because we were tired from our drive ,but we couldn't get in till around 4:30. it wasn't that bad there was a TV in the lobby showing Elvis movies along with a cool gift shop. we spent our wait in the Jungle Room which showed Elvis concerts on a big screen!! I guess people who were not Elvis fans may not like the hotel as much as I did, but why else would you stay at the Heartbreak Hotel. I would love to go back, but they are already booked for next year...guess i waited too long. A MUST SEE FOR ELVIS FANS!!!!

  • Liked — the theme was great
  • Disliked — having to wait after check in for a room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

The more Elvis- centric you are, the more you will enjoy this hotel. Reasonably clean, with very convenient shuttle service to all attractions in Memphis. Next door to Graceland. Smallish pool, and not- so- great fitness facility, but that is not why you are there.

Continental breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff.

Reasonably priced for the product.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Size
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Graceland was to be the highlight of our road trip. Part of the problem is that it is in a terribly run-down part of the city. Right next door to Graceland is an old used car lot! Anyways, the lobby and staff are nice, but the hotel itself has the feel of a pre-fabricated building. The rooms were very basic, and reminded me of a Motel 6. We paid $110 for a one night stay, and quite frankly had much better accomodations for half the price in other cities. On the plus side, Graceland is right across the street, and the museums, exhibits, etc. are right next door. We were also disappointed in the tour, and felt that the automotive museum is the best part of the tour.

  • Liked — Location to Graceland
  • Disliked — Condition of the room.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. If you are going to Memphis for the Elvis experience then don't book anywhere else. You are so close to Graceland that you feel overwhelmed. We are from England and had wanted to visit Graceland forever, so this trip was a very big deal for us. The rooms are very big and spacious, not 5 star luxury but clean and comfortable. We moved to a hotel in the downtown area for the remainder of our stay as Graceland is far away from the beale street area and other attractions. This was a big mistake and I regreted moving as soon as we checked in. The hotel was very nice but I felt like we were no longer living the Elvis dream holiday we had longed for. Stay at Heartbreak and get the shuttle too and from the attractions. It will take you to Sun studios's, Rock & soul, Beale street etc. I spent the rest of my holiday upset that we'd checked out so soon. I missed the heartbreak and Graceland that much that we hired a car and went back to Graceland to sign the wall and have a last look before we left for home. You can also walk in the grounds to the grave every morning from 7.30 - 8.30am. The best place to stay to do this would be the heartbreak as its just 2mins across the street. This was amazing as we were the only two people in the mansion grounds at 7.30 and it was very moving, we sat at the graveside in the meditition garden totally by ourselves with only the sound of the waterfalls. Stay at the Heartbreak, not just for the hotel but for the location, it can't be beat. Also dont miss the pink cadilac ride from the hotel to Marlows. Book at reception.

  • Liked — Location to Graceland
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Address: 3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 134 hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Memphis, Tennessee, Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel is a fashionable boutique hotel that takes its cues from the legendary hospitality and personal style for which the King of Rock 'n' Roll was known. Heartbreak Hotel features 128 rooms and is located conveniently across the street from Elvis Presley's Graceland. The hotel offers numerous amenities to make sure your stay is memorable and is located near the Memphis International Airport, making it one of the best Memphis hotel deals around. Stay at one of the most rockin’ hotels in Memphis, Tennessee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartbreak Hotel Memphis
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Memphis
Hotel Elvis Presleys Heartbreak
Elvis Presley Heartbreak Hotel
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.