We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got more than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel to your Saves list
Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Centereach, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“We got more than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

I do not get why there were some negative reviews. We are talking about a hotel called the "Heartbreak Hotel" across the street from Graceland, not the Four Seasons in Nevis! Of course it was going to be a bit cheesy - I would have been disappointed if it wasn't.

I decided to ignore the bad reviews and book the hotel for two nights on our trip down to Memphis. I was pleasantly surprised both walking into the lobby and walking into my room. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was quite large, clean and had a little kitchenette which was convenient. The "Jungle Room" bar did not live up to its name and don't count on a decent breakfast in the morning - I was not impressed by that.

But what was great, was being around all of the die hard fans and enthusiastic travelers and being able to walk to the Elvis attractions and souvenier shops... Please note, this hotel and Graceland are not in a great neighborhood and I did not really feel comfortable driving around at night. It is also not near downtown and Beale Street which was a bummer since my husband and I were anxious to spend some time listening to the blues and checking out the bars... Beale street did not meet my expectations either but it was fun. It was much more flashy and Disneyworld like than expected.

Overall, the hotel was a high point!

  • Liked — Theme and Decor
  • Disliked — Bad neighborhood
  • Tips/Secrets — We would try a theme room next time
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    356
    280
    172
    134
See reviews for
338
500
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

we arrived after a long flight, from england, and after ringing the hotel phone, did not have to long to wait to be picked up by curtesey bus, driver was welcoming, ELVIS was playing on the radio, immediately felt at ease, got dropped of at hotel foyer where once again Elvis was playing, the rececption staff were friendly, went up to our room on the second floor,(2 Lifts), Clean room ,air conditioning unit was old but not noticeable, new carpets, comfortable, clean beds , room was overlooking the pool, in essence the room was fine. comfortable, we were more than happy.
The breakfast wasgood, and you have to remember that this is not a5 star hotel, it more than filled us up and in fact carried us through to dinner everyday. the breakfast staff were always smileing. a good service.
i had 2 meals at the hotel the first was good , however the second meal ,i had to wait an hour for, the only problam in 6 days. which is good going, the reason for that was at 3 oclock the kitchen can get very busy, so i would avoid that time,
you can getinto downdown during the day on the sunstudios bus,
ther is aback up bus over the weekend so ,should not be a pproblam, if u go to this hotel say hello to sam the driver a really cool guy. the guy that runs the eve shuttle hotel bus mac served in the army with elvis and is amine of informationbeware that on this bus some people got left behind in downtown, but we never had a problam ,just get there a bit earlier.
the people staying at this hotel, all seemed to be having a great time, we certainley did, this hotel is a must for all Elvis fans, i would not stay anywhere esle inMEMPHIS.....GO ENJOY

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — aviod 3 pm in the restarant, get there in plenty of time for hotel shuttle
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights from 21st to 24th October as a Birthday treat for my husband who is a massive Elvis fan. As we weren't going to be doing any driving Heartbreak Hotel was perfect because it was literally just across the street from Graceland. We had tour tickets booked for our first morning there but took advantage of being so close and visited Elvis' grave early (you can go up there for free between 7.30 and 8.30). Glad we did because it was very peaceful and we avoided the crowds who came later as part of the tour, plus we got some nice photos of the house itself while it was quiet. We loved it so much we went back again on our last morning.
Our room was great - very clean, lots of facilities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sofa, good choice of TV channels) and very big. The bed was HUGE and extremely comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The foyer was smaller than I expected but never seemed crowded and you can watch Elvis clips on the retro-style TV while you wait for your transport to arrive. Speaking of transport, the shuttle to and from the airport was extremely handy and efficient. Just call the hotel from the phone in the terminal and they pick you up as soon as possible.
Only a couple of minor negatives: Firstly I thought the shuttle to Sun Studios and Beale Street would run more frequently than once every hour, especially first thing after breakfast when people are wanting to head out for the day. We managed to get onto the first shuttle one morning but only just as there was no formal queueing system and those who had been waiting longest weren't necessarily the ones who made it onto the shuttle in the end! When you leave Sun Studio after the tour (which is excellent) they don't tell you how close you are to Beale Street and you don't need to wait around for the shuttle. We walked there in about 15 minutes. Also the number 43 bus goes past Graceland and takes you downtown. We caught the bus back to the hotel once and it only cost $1.50, plus you get to see how some of the locals get around! Secondly it would've been nice to have proper crockery at breakfast - one morning my flimsy bowl of cereal split down the side as I was carrying it back to the table and the contents went all over the carpet! The breakfast itself was very nice. All you can eat with a choice of bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, fruit, etc.
We ate in the bar one night and the food was excellent. It was also great to watch the Elvis concerts and documentaries on the big screen in there while having a drink in the evening. There was a really nice atmosphere and it was great to know you didn't necessarily have to go out of the hotel every night to be entertained!
We didn't find out about the Graceland Outlet until our last day but it was well worth a look. It's just past the Elvis car museum as you head towards the Days Inn and sells Elvis merchandise at discount prices. They don't have everything that's stocked in the official Graceland shops (which are also fantastic and not too expensive) but if you have your eye on something it's worth checking if they have it cheaper in there!
Overall we had a wonderful trip and would definitely stay here if we ever get the chance to visit Memphis again. I left a much bigger Elvis fan than when I arrived!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Frequency of transport to downtown areas
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

Stayed at Heartbreak Hotel from 5th September until 8th September before moving on to Nashville. Wished it could have been longer. So hectic on our tour did not have time to swim in the Heart shaped swimming pool, just managed to take a photograph. Everything about the Hotel was great, except maybe the crockery, which was not, plastic plates.... Staff were friendly, loved the continual Elvis shows in the Dining area and the large picture of Elvis in the foyer. Breakfast was basic, but adequate. Took advantage of the free pink cadillac which picked you up and took you to Marlowes Restaurant/Bar, booked through Reception staff. I would recommend and return.

  • Liked — The 1950's style
  • Disliked — The plastic plates and cups
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

My family and I had waited 30 years to all get to go together, we had a wonderful 3 days and upgraded to the GRACELAND SUITE as an anniversary present to our parents, the suite is a replica of Elvis's home and it was a fantatic experience, my brother sister and I had not had a family holiday together since we were young ..this was a fantastic way for us to re-live our upbringing as my parents are in their late 60's.The hotel was great , clean, rooms were very nice,the staff fantastic, and to be so near Graceland was even more sereal. We are planning to go back as the hotel has had a refurb and we are looking forward to another great trip. If you love Elvis then this is a great location to be near the place Elvis lived and loved.

  • Liked — The themed rooms
  • Disliked — more choice of evening food
  • Stayed March 2004, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

Fantastic Hotel!! The staff was so friendly and helpful that we didn't want to leave. The rooms were large and clean. Every room had a fridge and coffee maker. The decor of the hotel was so colorful and vibrant that I felt I had stepped back in time to the 70's. They have a huge dinning room where they play Elvis Concerts 24 hours a day. They also have a restaurant there so you can get a snack or drink while you watch the concerts. It was a great change from just staying in your hotel room at night staring at the TV. Of course if you wanted to stay in your room 24/7 Elvis movies which we had going every morning while getting ready for the day. Also played them to help us unwind from the day and sleep. The beds were very comfortable. You got to get together with others on vacation, watch the concerts together and just make new friends. Of course a huge plus is you are within walking distance of Graceland! There is a PINK Limo that will come and pick you up from Marlow's so you can go and have a great Bar-B-Que Dinner. Great Food. The pool was beautiful to look at but it was to chilly to swim in. We did see others swimming but coming from GA. and FL. where it is warmer it was way to cold for us. We had a blast and would only stay there from now on when we go to Memphis! They also had a Military discount and senior discount so always make sure you ask!!

  • Liked — I loved the movies 24/7 and how comfortable the bed were.
  • Disliked — No internet connection
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your camera as lots of picture taking spots
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at the Heartbreak Hotel in August for 4 nights. Being big Elvis Fans and doing a life time trip from New Zealand, we expected more.

The up sides were : great staff, close to Graceland and most of all the 24 Hours Movie Channels. And it was nice to meet people from all over the world.

The down sides: No laundry , we had to walk to the Caravan Park to do our washing....which both times the shop was shut so we could not get the coins we needed. The Jungle Cafe was so limited with its food selection and it's hours. We found our room to be very stuffy with no open windows and the air con was so loud we could'nt sleep. We thought considering it was the Heartbreak Hotel and many people just like us come from all over the world, it would be clean and comfortable, but no it wasn't.

Our time in Memphis was fantastic and the Graceland Experince made it worthwhile, but we would not stay at the Heartbreak again.

  • Liked — 24 hour elvis music
  • Disliked — no laundry
  • Tips/Secrets — oki for maybe 1 night if travelling through
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Address: 3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Memphis, Tennessee, Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel is a fashionable boutique hotel that takes its cues from the legendary hospitality and personal style for which the King of Rock 'n' Roll was known. Heartbreak Hotel features 128 rooms and is located conveniently across the street from Elvis Presley's Graceland. The hotel offers numerous amenities to make sure your stay is memorable and is located near the Memphis International Airport, making it one of the best Memphis hotel deals around. Stay at one of the most rockin’ hotels in Memphis, Tennessee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartbreak Hotel Memphis
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Memphis
Hotel Elvis Presleys Heartbreak
Elvis Presley Heartbreak Hotel
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.