We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartbreak Hotel broke our hearts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel to your Saves list
Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save over $120
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Heartbreak Hotel broke our hearts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Poor Elvis. He would roll over if he know how sullen the personnel are and old the facility is. Its not like we asked for anything but these folks just don't understand how to serve a guest. The hallways are full of dents, The room was sad, dated and looked bad. We were so nervous we checked the bed for bugs and kept our luggage off the floor. Its one thing to be retro, but these folks merely are living on Elvis and not caring for the property.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    311
    241
    159
    123
See reviews for
300
431
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is great, near Graceland, airport and downtown. From afar, it does not look pretty; the lobby looks nice though, then nothing more. The restaurant is awful. The only good thing there is the free movies of Elvis performances on the big screen. The room is old, the hallway is dirty, and the overall atmosphere is gloomy. The room is clean. The front desk staff are not friendly at all. Elvis will not be proud.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to do the Elvis tour & the hotel is in the perfect location. The hotel itself is quite nice if a little dated with all the retro furniture but it was clean with decent sized rooms. My only complaint was the breakfast selection which was very poor. We went down for breakfast & were met with a choice of the usual biscuits & gravy or doughnuts. Very disappointing when you book the hotel as bed & breakfast then find a poor selection in the morning. The hotel is good for location but would not want to stayed for longer than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I took my mother for a birthday trip. As most reviewers say it is the best place to be able to walk over to the Graceland plaza. We checked in early and our room was ready. We had the VIP package which I felt was worth it at Graceland. The hotel looks a lot older than it is and the rooms need a total renovation. I had to upgrade to the smaller part of the Hollywood suite and it was definitely worth it. If your looking for just a place to stay then this will do. The staff was friendly and helpful, it just amazes me they let Elvis' name be attached to this hotel, but as people say..location is everything.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite or at least a half-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel could do with re decorating but on the whole a great place to stay for any Elvis fan . Our room on the ground floor was clean and comfortable , with 2 large bedrooms and kitchen area and a clean bathroom with plenty of towels. The free shuttle buses to Graceland and downtown Memphis were very handy and the staff were friendly and helpful. If you want the whole "Elvis experience " this is the place to stay . The only minor gripes were that there were never any English teabags in the dining room and it would have been nice to get a cup of tea/coffee in something other then a polystyrene cup! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I see there are quite a few negative reviews about this place,but were glad to stay here. Not only is it extremely convenient to Graceland and the many other Elvis Exhibitions ( short walking distance ), it was clean, comfy and we "accidentally'" got a great deal due to an error at the reception desk.
Of course if you are NOT an Elvis fan this place and the whole area could drive you insane. Elvis IS Everywhere.
It is kind of fun and quaint, and a bit tacky but in a good way.
My friend and I had a suite which was two good sized bedrooms and a bathroom. Elvis was on the TVs 24/7, and we each had a different photographic portrait on the wall. I was worried about noise because we were close to the restaurant and reception area ,but this was no problem.
The reception staff were not overly friendly, but we have come across far worse in much nicer places.
My only real compliant would be the breakfast -- boring and unappetizing.
But I'd stay here again.
I don't know why other people had such strong problems with the place..maybe they were expecting Elvis himself to appear??

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

if you are an Elvis fan you will enjoy the lobby and the Elvis memorabilia all around.
the standard rooms are about a 3 star rating- nothing fancy at all but clean.
it was next door to Graceland so that was huge for us as we were on a time crunch.
restaurant was good - enjoyed the mozzarella sticks and pb/banana sandwich an Elvis fave!
staff was very friendly - all prices at gift shops are the same in that immediate area.

Room Tip: try the suites if you want an ultimate fan experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Address: 3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Memphis, Tennessee, Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel is a fashionable boutique hotel that takes its cues from the legendary hospitality and personal style for which the King of Rock 'n' Roll was known. Heartbreak Hotel features 128 rooms and is located conveniently across the street from Elvis Presley's Graceland. The hotel offers numerous amenities to make sure your stay is memorable and is located near the Memphis International Airport, making it one of the best Memphis hotel deals around. Stay at one of the most rockin’ hotels in Memphis, Tennessee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartbreak Hotel Memphis
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Memphis
Hotel Elvis Presleys Heartbreak
Elvis Presley Heartbreak Hotel
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;