We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heartbreak breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel to your Saves list
Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116 (McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“heartbreak breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to do the Elvis tour & the hotel is in the perfect location. The hotel itself is quite nice if a little dated with all the retro furniture but it was clean with decent sized rooms. My only complaint was the breakfast selection which was very poor. We went down for breakfast & were met with a choice of the usual biscuits & gravy or doughnuts. Very disappointing when you book the hotel as bed & breakfast then find a poor selection in the morning. The hotel is good for location but would not want to stayed for longer than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    360
    282
    173
    136
See reviews for
340
509
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I took my mother for a birthday trip. As most reviewers say it is the best place to be able to walk over to the Graceland plaza. We checked in early and our room was ready. We had the VIP package which I felt was worth it at Graceland. The hotel looks a lot older than it is and the rooms need a total renovation. I had to upgrade to the smaller part of the Hollywood suite and it was definitely worth it. If your looking for just a place to stay then this will do. The staff was friendly and helpful, it just amazes me they let Elvis' name be attached to this hotel, but as people say..location is everything.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite or at least a half-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel could do with re decorating but on the whole a great place to stay for any Elvis fan . Our room on the ground floor was clean and comfortable , with 2 large bedrooms and kitchen area and a clean bathroom with plenty of towels. The free shuttle buses to Graceland and downtown Memphis were very handy and the staff were friendly and helpful. If you want the whole "Elvis experience " this is the place to stay . The only minor gripes were that there were never any English teabags in the dining room and it would have been nice to get a cup of tea/coffee in something other then a polystyrene cup! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I see there are quite a few negative reviews about this place,but were glad to stay here. Not only is it extremely convenient to Graceland and the many other Elvis Exhibitions ( short walking distance ), it was clean, comfy and we "accidentally'" got a great deal due to an error at the reception desk.
Of course if you are NOT an Elvis fan this place and the whole area could drive you insane. Elvis IS Everywhere.
It is kind of fun and quaint, and a bit tacky but in a good way.
My friend and I had a suite which was two good sized bedrooms and a bathroom. Elvis was on the TVs 24/7, and we each had a different photographic portrait on the wall. I was worried about noise because we were close to the restaurant and reception area ,but this was no problem.
The reception staff were not overly friendly, but we have come across far worse in much nicer places.
My only real compliant would be the breakfast -- boring and unappetizing.
But I'd stay here again.
I don't know why other people had such strong problems with the place..maybe they were expecting Elvis himself to appear??

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

if you are an Elvis fan you will enjoy the lobby and the Elvis memorabilia all around.
the standard rooms are about a 3 star rating- nothing fancy at all but clean.
it was next door to Graceland so that was huge for us as we were on a time crunch.
restaurant was good - enjoyed the mozzarella sticks and pb/banana sandwich an Elvis fave!
staff was very friendly - all prices at gift shops are the same in that immediate area.

Room Tip: try the suites if you want an ultimate fan experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Yes, it is at the end of Lonely Street and the desk clerk is dressed in black, but this is a fun place to stay if you are a fan of The King and are visiting Graceland which is a two minute walk from the front door (an hourly shuttle is available if needed).

Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, good and reasonably priced food (served on plastic plates), excellent complimentary breakfast and coffee. With three 24x7 Elvis channels on TV in the bedrooms and large screen concerts in the restaurant during dinner, you might not ever want to leave.

There is a regular free shuttle to downtown Memphis if you can tear yourself away from Graceland long enough to enjoy it.

Free and fast WiFi was useful for keeping in touch with friends and family back home.

Don't be discouraged by the negative reviews posted here by people who expected something else. Sure, it's not the Ritz or the Peabody, but it doesn't claim to be and is priced accordingly.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms on the east side might just have a view of Graceland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

In terms of location you can't get any better for visiting Graceland - just walk across the car park and your at the ticket booth and Elvis/Memphis souvenir shops. You have to board a small shuttle bus after you purchase your ticket and this brings you across the road to Graceland.

The hotel itself is a little shabby and staff weren't as friendly and enthusiastic as I would have expected. There was no information given at check-in on tours and excursions or the surrounding area. Rooms on the 5th floor were specious and consisted of 2 bedrooms, full bed in one room with 3 seater sofa & tv - the other room had king bed, bathroom, tv, and the small hallway between had microwave, fridge etc.

Breakfast is a complimentary continental breakfast and had a selection of bread, bagels, muffins, cereals, porridge, fruit, cream cheese, jams, tea, coffee and juice. The restaurant also served food from 2pm daily but we didn't eat here.

This hotel also features a small swimming pool, gift shop, shuttle service to airport & downtown for a fee of $5. There is also a small bar behind the lobby.

Overall if your visiting Graceland this hotel is the perfect location.

Room Tip: The triple rooms are very specious on the 5th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel

Address: 3677 Elvis Presley Blvd, Memphis, TN 38116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 135 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular hotels in Memphis, Tennessee, Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel is a fashionable boutique hotel that takes its cues from the legendary hospitality and personal style for which the King of Rock 'n' Roll was known. Heartbreak Hotel features 128 rooms and is located conveniently across the street from Elvis Presley's Graceland. The hotel offers numerous amenities to make sure your stay is memorable and is located near the Memphis International Airport, making it one of the best Memphis hotel deals around. Stay at one of the most rockin’ hotels in Memphis, Tennessee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartbreak Hotel Memphis
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Memphis
Hotel Elvis Presleys Heartbreak
Elvis Presley Heartbreak Hotel
Elvis Presleys Heartbreak Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvis Presley's Heartbreak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.